The One Year Bible – Day 69

The One Year Bible – Day 69
3-10-2014 Par 10.7 Genesis
43,16 And when Joseph saw Benjamin with them, he said to the steward of his house: ‘Bring the men into the house, and kill the beasts, and prepare the meat; for the men shall dine with me at noon.’ 43,17 And the man did as Joseph bade; and the man brought the men into Joseph’s house. 43,18 And the men were afraid, because they were brought into Joseph’s house; and they said: ‘Because of the money that was returned in our sacks at the first time are we brought in; that he may seek occasion against us, and fall upon us, and take us for bondmen, and our asses.’ 43,19 And they came near to the steward of Joseph’s house, and they spoke unto him at the door of the house, 43,20 and said: ‘Oh my lord, we came indeed down at the first time to buy food. 43,21 And it came to pass, when we came to the lodging-place, that we opened our sacks, and, behold, every man’s money was in the mouth of his sack, our money in full weight; and we have brought it back in our hand. 43,22 And other money have we brought down in our hand to buy food. We know not who put our money in our sacks.’ 43,23 And he said: ‘Peace be to you, fear not; your God, and the God of your father, hath given you treasure in your sacks; I had your money.’ And he brought Simeon out unto them. 43,24 And the man brought the men into Joseph’s house, and gave them water, and they washed their feet; and he gave their asses provender. 43,25 And they made ready the present against Joseph’s coming at noon; for they heard that they should eat bread there. 43,26 And when Joseph came home, they brought him the present which was in their hand into the house, and bowed down to him to the earth. 43,27 And he asked them of their welfare, and said: ‘Is your father well, the old man of whom ye spoke? Is he yet alive?’ 43,28 And they said: ‘Thy servant our father is well, he is yet alive.’ And they bowed the head, and made obeisance. 43,29 And he lifted up his eyes, and saw Benjamin his brother, his mother’s son, and said: ‘Is this your youngest brother of whom ye spoke unto me?’ And he said: ‘God be gracious unto thee, my son.’

…,…

1 Samuel Chapter 24
1 And it came to pass, when Saul was returned from following the Philistines, that it was told him, saying: ‘Behold, David is in the wilderness of En-gedi.’ {S}

2 Then Saul took three thousand chosen men out of all Israel, and went to seek David and his men upon the rocks of the wild goats. 3 And he came to the sheepcotes by the way, where was a cave; and Saul went in to cover his feet. Now David and his men were sitting in the innermost parts of the cave. 4 And the men of David said unto him: ‘Behold the day in which the LORD hath said unto thee: Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thy hand, and thou shalt do to him as it shall seem good unto thee.’ Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily. 5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt. 6 And he said unto his men: ‘The LORD forbid it me, that I should do this thing unto my lord, the LORD’S anointed, to put forth my hand against him, seeing he is the LORD’S anointed.’ 7 So David checked his men with these words, and suffered them not to rise against Saul. And Saul rose up out of the cave, and went on his way. {S}
8 David also arose afterward, and went out of the cave, and cried after Saul, saying: ‘My lord the king.’ And when Saul looked behind him, David bowed with his face to the earth, and prostrated himself. {S}
9 And David said to Saul: ‘Wherefore hearkenest thou to men’s words, saying: Behold, David seeketh thy hurt? 10 Behold, this day thine eyes have seen how that the LORD had delivered thee to-day into my hand in the cave; and some bade me kill thee; but mine eye spared thee; and I said: I will not put forth my hand against my lord; for he is the LORD’S anointed. 11 Moreover, my father, see, yea, see the skirt of thy robe in my hand; for in that I cut off the skirt of thy robe, and killed thee not, know thou and see that there is neither evil nor transgression in my hand, and I have not sinned against thee, though thou layest wait for my soul to take it. 12 The LORD judge between me and thee, and the LORD avenge me of thee; but my hand shall not be upon thee. 13 As saith the proverb of the ancients: Out of the wicked cometh forth wickedness; but my hand shall not be upon thee. 14 After whom is the king of Israel come out? after whom dost thou pursue? after a dead dog, after a flea. 15 The LORD therefore be judge, and give sentence between me and thee, and see, and plead my cause, and deliver me out of thy hand.’ {P}
16 And it came to pass, when David had made an end of speaking these words unto Saul, that Saul said: ‘Is this thy voice, my son David?’ And Saul lifted up his voice, and wept. 17 And he said to David: ‘Thou art more righteous than I; for thou hast rendered unto me good, whereas I have rendered unto thee evil. 18 And thou hast declared this day how that thou hast dealt well with me; forasmuch as when the LORD had delivered me up into thy hand, thou didst not kill me. 19 For if a man find his enemy, will he let him go well away? wherefore the LORD reward thee good for that which thou hast done unto me this day. 20 And now, behold, I know that thou shalt surely be king, and that the kingdom of Israel shall be established in thy hand. 21 Swear now therefore unto me by the LORD, that thou wilt not cut off my seed after me, and that thou wilt not destroy my name out of my father’s house.’ 22 And David swore unto Saul. And Saul went home; but David and his men got them up unto the stronghold. {S}

…,…
Psalms Chapter 69
1 For the Leader; upon Shoshannim. [A Psalm] of David.

2 Save me, O God; for the waters are come in even unto the soul.
3 I am sunk in deep mire, where there is no standing; {N}
I am come into deep waters, and the flood overwhelmeth me.
4 I am weary of my crying; my throat is dried; mine eyes fail while I wait for my God.
5 They that hate me without a cause are more than the hairs of my head; {N}
they that would cut me off, being mine enemies wrongfully, are many; should I restore that which I took not away?
6 O God, Thou knowest my folly; and my trespasses are not hid from Thee.
7 Let not them that wait for Thee be ashamed through me, O Lord GOD of hosts; {N}
let not those that seek Thee be brought to confusion through me, O God of Israel.
8 Because for Thy sake I have borne reproach; confusion hath covered my face.
9 I am become a stranger unto my brethren, and an alien unto my mother’s children.
10 Because zeal for Thy house hath eaten me up, and the reproaches of them that reproach Thee are fallen upon me.
11 And I wept with my soul fasting, and that became unto me a reproach.
12 I made sackcloth also my garment, and I became a byword unto them.
13 They that sit in the gate talk of me; and I am the song of the drunkards.
14 But as for me, let my prayer be unto Thee, O LORD, in an acceptable time; O God, in the abundance of Thy mercy, {N}
answer me with the truth of Thy salvation.
15 Deliver me out of the mire, and let me not sink; let me be delivered from them that hate me, and out of the deep waters.
16 Let not the waterflood overwhelm me, neither let the deep swallow me up; {N}
and let not the pit shut her mouth upon me.
17 Answer me, O LORD, for Thy mercy is good; according to the multitude of Thy compassions turn Thou unto me.
18 And hide not Thy face from Thy servant; for I am in distress; answer me speedily.
19 Draw nigh unto my soul, and redeem it; ransom me because of mine enemies.
20 Thou knowest my reproach, and my shame, and my confusion; mine adversaries are all before Thee.
21 Reproach hath broken my heart; and I am sore sick; {N}
and I looked for some to show compassion, but there was none; and for comforters, but I found none.
22 Yea, they put poison into my food; and in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.
23 Let their table before them become a snare; and when they are in peace, let it become a trap.
24 Let their eyes be darkened, that they see not; and make their loins continually to totter.
25 Pour out Thine indignation upon them, and let the fierceness of Thine anger overtake them.
26 Let their encampment be desolate; let none dwell in their tents.
27 For they persecute him whom Thou hast smitten; and they tell of the pain of those whom Thou hast wounded.
28 Add iniquity unto their iniquity; and let them not come into Thy righteousness.
29 Let them be blotted out of the book of the living, and not be written with the righteous.
30 But I am afflicted and in pain; let Thy salvation, O God, set me up on high.
31 I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify Him with thanksgiving.
32 And it shall please the LORD better than a bullock that hath horns and hoofs.
33 The humble shall see it, and be glad; ye that seek after God, let your heart revive.
34 For the LORD hearkeneth unto the needy, and despiseth not His prisoners.
35 Let heaven and earth praise Him, the seas, and every thing that moveth therein.
36 For God will save Zion, and build the cities of Judah; and they shall abide there, and have it in possession.
37 The seed also of His servants shall inherit it; and they that love His name shall dwell therein. {P}

…,…

 

Luke 24

Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)

Now upon the first day of the week, very early in the morning, they came unto the sepulchre, bringing the spices which they had prepared, and certain others with them.  2 And they found the stone rolled away from the sepulchre.  3 And they entered in, and found not the body of the Lord Jesus.  4 And it came to pass, as they were much perplexed thereabout, behold, two men stood by them in shining garments:  5 and as they were afraid, and bowed down their faces to the earth, they said unto them, Why seek ye the living among the dead?  6 He is not here, but is risen: remember how he spake unto you when he was yet in Galilee,  7 saying, The Son of man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, and be crucified, and the third day rise again.  8 And they remembered his words,  9 and returned from the sepulchre, and told all these things unto the eleven, and to all the rest.  10 It was Mary Magdalene, and Joanna, and Mary the mother of James, and other women that were with them, which told these things unto the apostles.  11 And their words seemed to them as idle tales, and they believed them not.  12 Then arose Peter, and ran unto the sepulchre; and stooping down, he beheld the linen clothes laid by themselves, and departed, wondering in himself at that which was come to pass.

13 And, behold, two of them went that same day to a village called Emmaus, which was from Jerusalem about threescore furlongs.  14 And they talked together of all these things which had happened.  15 And it came to pass, that, while they communed together and reasoned, Jesus himself drew near, and went with them.  16 But their eyes were holden that they should not know him.  17 And he said unto them,

What manner of communications are these that ye have one to another, as ye walk, and are sad? 

18 And the one of them, whose name was Cleopas, answering said unto him, Art thou only a stranger in Jerusalem, and hast not known the things which are come to pass there in these days?  19 And he said unto them,

What things?

And they said unto him, Concerning Jesus of Nazareth, which was a prophet mighty in deed and word before God and all the people:  20 and how the chief priests and our rulers delivered him to be condemned to death, and have crucified him.  21 But we trusted that it had been he which should have redeemed Israel: and beside all this, to day is the third day since these things were done.  22 Yea, and certain women also of our company made us astonished, which were early at the sepulchre;  23 and when they found not his body, they came, saying, that they had also seen a vision of angels, which said that he was alive.  24 And certain of them which were with us went to the sepulchre, and found it even so as the women had said: but him they saw not.  25 Then he said unto them,

O fools, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken:  26 ought not Christ to have suffered these things, and to enter into his glory? 

27 And beginning at Moses and all the prophets, he expounded unto them in all the scriptures the things concerning himself.

28 And they drew nigh unto the village, whither they went: and he made as though he would have gone further.  29 But they constrained him, saying, Abide with us: for it is toward evening, and the day is far spent. And he went in to tarry with them.  30 And it came to pass, as he sat at meat with them, he took bread, and blessed it, and brake, and gave to them.  31 And their eyes were opened, and they knew him; and he vanished out of their sight.  32 And they said one to another, Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the scriptures?  33 And they rose up the same hour, and returned to Jerusalem, and found the eleven gathered together, and them that were with them,  34 saying, The Lord is risen indeed, and hath appeared to Simon.  35 And they told what things were done in the way, and how he was known of them in breaking of bread.

36 And as they thus spake, Jesus himself stood in the midst of them, and saith unto them,

Peace be unto you. 

37 But they were terrified and affrighted, and supposed that they had seen a spirit.  38 And he said unto them,

Why are ye troubled? and why do thoughts arise in your hearts?  39 Behold my hands and my feet, that it is I myself: handle me, and see; for a spirit hath not flesh and bones, as ye see me have. 

40 And when he had thus spoken, he shewed them his hands and his feet.  41 And while they yet believed not for joy, and wondered, he said unto them,

Have ye here any meat? 

42 And they gave him a piece of a broiled fish, and of an honeycomb.  43 And he took it, and did eat before them.  44 And he said unto them,

These are the words which I spake unto you, while I was yet with you, that all things must be fulfilled, which were written in the law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the psalms, concerning me. 

45 Then opened he their understanding, that they might understand the scriptures,  46 and said unto them,

Thus it is written, and thus it behoved Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day:  47 and that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.  48 And ye are witnesses of these things.  49 And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.

50 And he led them out as far as to Bethany, and he lifted up his hands, and blessed them.  51 And it came to pass, while he blessed them, he was parted from them, and carried up into heaven.  52 And they worshipped him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy:  53 and were continually in the temple, praising and blessing God. Amen.
Do you have a daily Bible reading plan ?
Can I create a plan designed specifically for you?
Daily Readings http://wp.me/1spFc

Daily Updates https://twitter.com/cocoonster
Associations http://www.linkedin.com/in/chapdan
Website http://thechurchofpasadena.jimdo.com/
Profile http://www.linkedin.com/in/chapdan

Par 25.ii “an eternal statute”

3-10-2014 2nd Portion Chapter 6 Leviticus

12. And the ETERNAL spoke to Moses, saying,
יב. וַיְדַבֵּר יְהֹוָה אֶל משֶׁה לֵּאמֹר:

13. This is the offering of Aaron and his sons, which they shall offer to the eternal, on the day when [one of them] is anointed: One tenth of an ephah of fine flour for a perpetual meal offering, half of it in the morning and half of it in the evening.

יג. זֶה קָרְבַּן אַהֲרֹן וּבָנָיו אֲשֶׁר יַקְרִיבוּ לַיהֹוָה בְּיוֹם הִמָּשַׁח אֹתוֹ עֲשִׂירִת הָאֵפָה סֹלֶת מִנְחָה תָּמִיד מַחֲצִיתָהּ בַּבֹּקֶר וּמַחֲצִיתָהּ בָּעָרֶב: 14. It shall be made with oil on a shallow pan, after bringing it scalded and repeatedly baked; you shall offer a meal offering of broken pieces, [with] a pleasing fragrance to the ETERNAL.

יד. עַל מַחֲבַת בַּשֶּׁמֶן תֵּעָשֶׂה מֻרְבֶּכֶת תְּבִיאֶנָּה תֻּפִינֵי מִנְחַת פִּתִּים תַּקְרִיב רֵיחַ נִיחֹחַ לַיהֹוָה: 15. And the kohen who is anointed instead of him from among his sons, shall prepare it; [this is] an eternal statute; it shall be completely burnt to the ETERNAL.

טו. וְהַכֹּהֵן הַמָּשִׁיחַ תַּחְתָּיו מִבָּנָיו יַעֲשֶׂה אֹתָהּ חָק עוֹלָם לַיהֹוָה כָּלִיל תָּקְטָר: 16. Every meal offering of a kohen shall be completely burnt; it shall not be eaten.

טז. וְכָל מִנְחַת כֹּהֵן כָּלִיל תִּהְיֶה לֹא תֵאָכֵל:

17. And the ETERNAL spoke to Moses, saying,
יז. וַיְדַבֵּר יְהֹוָה אֶל משֶׁה לֵּאמֹר
:

18. Speak to Aaron and to his sons, saying, This is the law of the sin offering: The sin offering shall be slaughtered before the ETERNAL in the place where the burnt offering is slaughtered. It is a holy of holies.
יח. דַּבֵּר אֶל אַהֲרֹן וְאֶל בָּנָיו לֵאמֹר זֹאת תּוֹרַת הַחַטָּאת בִּמְקוֹם אֲשֶׁר תִּשָּׁחֵט הָעֹלָה תִּשָּׁחֵט הַחַטָּאת לִפְנֵי יְהֹוָה קֹדֶשׁ קָדָשִׁים הִוא:
19. The kohen who offers it up as a sin offering shall eat it; it shall be eaten in a holy place, in the courtyard of the Tent of Meeting.
יט. הַכֹּהֵן הַמְחַטֵּא אֹתָהּ יֹאכְלֶנָּה בְּמָקוֹם קָדשׁ תֵּאָכֵל בַּחֲצַר אֹהֶל מוֹעֵד:
20. Anything that touches its flesh shall become holy, and if any of its blood is sprinkled on a garment, [the area of the garment] upon which it has been sprinkled, you shall wash in a holy place.
כ. כֹּל אֲשֶׁר יִגַּע בִּבְשָׂרָהּ יִקְדָּשׁ וַאֲשֶׁר יִזֶּה מִדָּמָהּ עַל הַבֶּגֶד אֲשֶׁר יִזֶּה עָלֶיהָ תְּכַבֵּס בְּמָקוֹם קָדשׁ:
21. An earthenware vessel in which it is cooked shall be broken, but if it is cooked in a copper vessel, it shall be purged and rinsed with water.
כא. וּכְלִי חֶרֶשׂ אֲשֶׁר תְּבֻשַּׁל בּוֹ יִשָּׁבֵר וְאִם בִּכְלִי נְחשֶׁת בֻּשָּׁלָה וּמֹרַק וְשֻׁטַּף בַּמָּיִם:
22. Every male among the kohanim may eat it. It is a holy of holies.
כב. כָּל זָכָר בַּכֹּהֲנִים יֹאכַל אֹתָהּ קֹדֶשׁ קָדָשִׁים הִוא:
23. But any sin offering some of whose blood was brought into the Tent of Meeting to make atonement in the Holy, shall not be eaten; it shall be burned in fire.
כג. וְכָל חַטָּאת אֲשֶׁר יוּבָא מִדָּמָהּ אֶל אֹהֶל מוֹעֵד לְכַפֵּר בַּקֹּדֶשׁ לֹא תֵאָכֵל בָּאֵשׁ תִּשָּׂרֵף:

Chapter 7

1. And this is the law of the guilt offering. It is a holy of holies.
א. וְזֹאת תּוֹרַת הָאָשָׁם קֹדֶשׁ קָדָשִׁים הוּא:
2. They shall slaughter the guilt offering in the place where they slaughter the burnt offering; and its blood shall be dashed upon the altar, around.
ב. בִּמְקוֹם אֲשֶׁר יִשְׁחֲטוּ אֶת הָעֹלָה יִשְׁחֲטוּ אֶת הָאָשָׁם וְאֶת דָּמוֹ יִזְרֹק עַל הַמִּזְבֵּחַ סָבִיב:
3. And all of its fat he shall offer from it: the tail and the fat covering the innards,
ג. וְאֵת כָּל חֶלְבּוֹ יַקְרִיב מִמֶּנּוּ אֵת הָאַלְיָה וְאֶת הַחֵלֶב הַמְכַסֶּה אֶת הַקֶּרֶב:
4. and the two kidneys [along] with the fat that is upon them, which is on the flanks, and the diaphragm with the liver; along with the kidneys he shall remove it.
ד. וְאֵת שְׁתֵּי הַכְּלָיֹת וְאֶת הַחֵלֶב אֲשֶׁר עֲלֵיהֶן אֲשֶׁר עַל הַכְּסָלִים וְאֶת הַיֹּתֶרֶת עַל הַכָּבֵד עַל הַכְּלָיֹת יְסִירֶנָּה:
5. And the kohen shall cause them to [go up in] smoke on the altar as a fire offering to the ETERNAL. It is a guilt offering.
ה. וְהִקְטִיר אֹתָם הַכֹּהֵן הַמִּזְבֵּחָה אִשֶּׁה לַיהֹוָה אָשָׁם הוּא:
6. Any male among the kohanim may eat it; it shall be eaten in a holy place. It is a holy of holies.
ו. כָּל זָכָר בַּכֹּהֲנִים יֹאכְלֶנּוּ בְּמָקוֹם קָדוֹשׁ יֵאָכֵל קֹדֶשׁ קָדָשִׁים הוּא:
7. Like the sin offering, so is the guilt offering, they have one law; the kohen who effects atonement through it to him it shall belong.
ז. כַּחַטָּאת כָּאָשָׁם תּוֹרָה אַחַת לָהֶם הַכֹּהֵן אֲשֶׁר יְכַפֶּר בּוֹ לוֹ יִהְיֶה:
8. And the kohen who offers up a person’s burnt offering, the skin of the burnt offering which he has offered up, belongs to the kohen; it shall be his.
ח. וְהַכֹּהֵן הַמַּקְרִיב אֶת עֹלַת אִישׁ עוֹר הָעֹלָה אֲשֶׁר הִקְרִיב לַכֹּהֵן לוֹ יִהְיֶה:
9. And any meal offering baked in an oven, and any one made in a deep pan or in a shallow pan, belongs to the kohen who offers it up; it shall be his.
ט. וְכָל מִנְחָה אֲשֶׁר תֵּאָפֶה בַּתַּנּוּר וְכָל נַעֲשָׂה בַמַּרְחֶשֶׁת וְעַל מַחֲבַת לַכֹּהֵן הַמַּקְרִיב אֹתָהּ לוֹ תִהְיֶה:
10. And any meal offering mixed with oil or dry, shall belong to all the sons of Aaron, one like the other.
י. וְכָל מִנְחָה בְלוּלָה בַשֶּׁמֶן וַחֲרֵבָה לְכָל בְּנֵי אַהֲרֹן תִּהְיֶה אִישׁ כְּאָחִיו:

bible-Sunlight.jpg
Do you have a daily Bible reading plan ?
Can I create a plan designed specifically for you?
Daily Readings http://wp.me/1spFc

Daily Updates https://twitter.com/cocoonster
Associations http://www.linkedin.com/in/chapdan
Website http://thechurchofpasadena.jimdo.com/
Profile http://www.linkedin.com/in/chapdan