‘to eat, and to drink, and’ – JESUSbible3/Ecclesiastes

8,1 Who is as the wise man? and who knoweth the interpretation of a thing? A man’s wisdom maketh his face to shine, and the boldness of his face is changed.

8,2 I [counsel thee]:
keep the king’s command, and that in regard of the oath of God.

8,3 Be not hasty to go out of his presence; stand not in an evil thing; for he doeth whatsoever pleaseth him.

8,4 Forasmuch as the king’s word hath power; and who may say unto him:
‘What doest thou?’

8,5 Whoso keepeth the commandment shall know no evil thing; and a wise man’s heart discerneth time and judgment.

8,6 For to every matter there is a time and judgment; for the evil of man is great upon him.

8,7 For he knoweth not that which shall be; for even when it cometh to pass, who shall declare it unto him?

8,8 There is no man that hath power over the wind to retain the wind; neither hath he power over the day of death; and there is no discharge in war; neither shall wickedness deliver him that is given to it.

8,9 All this have I seen, even applied my heart thereto, whatever the work that is done under the sun; what time one man had power over another to his hurt.

8,10 And so I saw the wicked buried, and they entered into their rest; but they that had done right went away from the holy place, and were forgotten in the city; this also is vanity.

8,11 Because sentence against an evil work is not executed speedily, therefore the heart of the sons of men is fully set in them to do evil;

8,12 because a sinner doeth evil a hundred times, and prolongeth his days–
though yet I know that it shall be well with them that fear God, that fear before Him;

8,13 but it shall not be well with the wicked, neither shall he prolong his days, which are as a shadow, because he feareth not before God.

8,14 There is a vanity which is done upon the earth:
that there are righteous men, unto whom it happeneth according to the work of the wicked; again, there are wicked men, to whom it happeneth according to the work of the righteous–
I said that this also is vanity.

8,15 So I commended mirth, that a man hath no better thing under the sun, than to eat, and to drink, and to be merry, and that this should accompany him in his labour all the days of his life which God hath given him under the sun.

8,16 When I applied my heart to know wisdom, and to see the business that is done upon the earth–
for neither day nor night do men see sleep with their eyes–

8,17 then I beheld all the work of God, that man cannot find out the work that is done under the sun; because though a man labour to seek it out, yet he shall not find it; yea further, though a wise man think to know it, yet shall he not be able to find it.

commentary: the argument he is establishing hinges on ‘vanity’ which is equivalent to logic and the phrases like ‘under the sun’ and ‘upon the earth’ as in vs. 14-17 and earlier – which stands for the temporal.

Have a wonderful weekend – Shabbat Shalom.

update!

George, the LORD is still doing His good work, Brotheran old friend from high school started an account and they raised over $2500 – i am getting a test done and in Sept and try to get new hearing aids – pray this works!

“Not yet” – #WhatWouldJesusTeach

Conflict of interest is natural. We all want our way.

JESUS’ mother wanted satisfaction from her son. She knew His ability to help so she called on Him.

With protest, He complied. But the Lesson was plain. Be patient. Do not test GOD for your personal wants.

John 2,1 And on the third day there was a feast in Cana, a city of Galilee:
and the mother of Jesus was there.
2 And also Jesus and his disciples were invited to the feast.
3 And the wine fell short:
and his mother said to Jesus:
They have no wine.
4 Jesus said to her:
What is [in common] to me and thee ?
Not yet hath my hour come.

Korach v. Not just a Levite, Messiah was the Aaronic High Priest Himself

ב"ה
Today is Jul. 7, 2016 | Month 5,1, 6155
Parshat Korach
5th Portion: (Numbers 17:16-24)
Numbers Chapter 17

16 Jehovah said to Moses saying: טזוַיְדַבֵּ֥ר יְהֹוָ֖ה אֶל־משֶׁ֥ה לֵּאמֹֽר:

17 Speak to the sons of Israel and take from them a staff for each father’s house from all the chieftains according to their fathers’ houses; [a total of] twelve staffs, and inscribe each man’s name on his staff. יזדַּבֵּ֣ר | אֶל־בְּנֵ֣י יִשְׂרָאֵ֗ל וְקַ֣ח מֵֽאִתָּ֡ם מַטֶּ֣ה מַטֶּה֩ לְבֵ֨ית אָ֜ב מֵאֵ֤ת כָּל־נְשִֽׂיאֵהֶם֙ לְבֵ֣ית אֲבֹתָ֔ם שְׁנֵ֥ים עָשָׂ֖ר מַטּ֑וֹת אִ֣ישׁ אֶת־שְׁמ֔וֹ תִּכְתֹּ֖ב עַל־מַטֵּֽהוּ:

18 Inscribe Aaron’s name on the staff of Levi, for there is [only] one staff for the head of their fathers’ house. יחוְאֵת֙ שֵׁ֣ם אַֽהֲרֹ֔ן תִּכְתֹּ֖ב עַל־מַטֵּ֣ה לֵוִ֑י כִּ֚י מַטֶּ֣ה אֶחָ֔ד לְרֹ֖אשׁ בֵּ֥ית אֲבוֹתָֽם:

19 You shall place the staffs in the Tent of Meeting before the [Ark of] the Testimony where I commune with you. יטוְהִנַּחְתָּ֖ם בְּאֹ֣הֶל מוֹעֵ֑ד לִפְנֵי֙ הָֽעֵד֔וּת אֲשֶׁ֛ר אִוָּעֵ֥ד לָכֶ֖ם שָֽׁמָּה:

20 The staff of the man whom I will choose will blossom, and I will calm down [turning away] from Myself the complaints of the sons of Israel which they are complaining against you. כוְהָיָ֗ה הָאִ֛ישׁ אֲשֶׁ֥ר אֶבְחַר־בּ֖וֹ מַטֵּ֣הוּ יִפְרָ֑ח וַֽהֲשִׁכֹּתִ֣י מֵֽעָלַ֗י אֶת־תְּלֻנּוֹת֙ בְּנֵ֣י יִשְׂרָאֵ֔ל אֲשֶׁ֛ר הֵ֥ם מַלִּינִ֖ם עֲלֵיכֶֽם:

21 Moses spoke to the sons of Israel, and all their chieftains gave him a staff for each chieftain according to their fathers’ houses, [a total of] twelve staffs, and Aaron’s staff was amidst their staffs. כאוַיְדַבֵּ֨ר משֶׁ֜ה אֶל־בְּנֵ֣י יִשְׂרָאֵ֗ל וַיִּתְּנ֣וּ אֵלָ֣יו | כָּל־נְשִֽׂיאֵיהֶ֡ם מַטֶּה֩ לְנָשִׂ֨יא אֶחָ֜ד מַטֶּ֨ה לְנָשִׂ֤יא אֶחָד֙ לְבֵ֣ית אֲבֹתָ֔ם שְׁנֵ֥ים עָשָׂ֖ר מַטּ֑וֹת וּמַטֵּ֥ה אַֽהֲרֹ֖ן בְּת֥וֹךְ מַטּוֹתָֽם:

22 Moses placed the staffs before jehovah in the Tent of the Testimony. כבוַיַּנַּ֥ח משֶׁ֛ה אֶת־הַמַּטֹּ֖ת לִפְנֵ֣י יְהֹוָ֑ה בְּאֹ֖הֶל הָֽעֵדֻֽת:

23 And on the following day Moses came to the Tent of Testimony, and behold, Aaron’s staff for the house of Levi had blossomed! It gave forth blossoms, sprouted buds, and produced ripe almonds. כגוַיְהִ֣י מִמָּֽחֳרָ֗ת וַיָּבֹ֤א משֶׁה֙ אֶל־אֹ֣הֶל הָֽעֵד֔וּת וְהִנֵּ֛ה פָּרַ֥ח מַטֵּה־אַֽהֲרֹ֖ן לְבֵ֣ית לֵוִ֑י וַיֹּ֤צֵ֥א פֶ֨רַח֙ וַיָּ֣צֵ֥ץ צִ֔יץ וַיִּגְמֹ֖ל שְׁקֵדִֽים:

24 Moses took out all the staffs from before jehovah, to the jehovah of Israel; they saw and they took, each man his staff. כדוַיֹּצֵ֨א משֶׁ֤ה אֶת־כָּל־הַמַּטֹּת֙ מִלִּפְנֵ֣י יְהֹוָ֔ה אֶל־כָּל־בְּנֵ֖י יִשְׂרָאֵ֑ל וַיִּרְא֥וּ וַיִּקְח֖וּ אִ֥ישׁ מַטֵּֽהוּ:

The July 7 Bible

Part I Genesis

41,15 And Pharaoh said unto Joseph:

‘I have dreamed a dream, and there is none that can interpret it; and I have heard say of thee, that when thou hearest a dream thou canst interpret it.’

41,16 And Joseph answered Pharaoh, saying:

‘It is not in me; God will give Pharaoh an answer of peace.’

41,17 And Pharaoh spoke unto Joseph:

‘In my dream, behold, I stood upon the brink of the river.

41,18 And, behold, there came up out of the river seven kine, fat-fleshed and well-favoured; and they fed in the reed-grass.

41,19 And, behold, seven other kine came up after them, poor and very ill-favoured and lean-fleshed, such as I never saw in all the land of Egypt for badness.

41,20 And the lean and ill-favoured kine did eat up the first seven fat kine.

41,21 And when they had eaten them up, it could not be known that they had eaten them; but they were still ill-favoured as at the beginning. So I awoke.

41,22 And I saw in my dream, and, behold, seven ears came up upon one stalk, full and good.

41,23 And, behold, seven ears, withered, thin, and blasted with the east wind, sprung up after them.

41,24 And the thin ears swallowed up the seven good ears. And I told it unto the magicians; but there was none that could declare it to me.’

41,25 And Joseph said unto Pharaoh:

‘The dream of Pharaoh is one; what God is about to do He hath declared unto Pharaoh.

41,26 The seven good kine are seven years; and the seven good ears are seven years:

the dream is one.

41,27 And the seven lean and ill-favoured kine that came up after them are seven years, and also the seven empty ears blasted with the east wind; they shall be seven years of famine.

41,28 That is the thing which I spoke unto Pharaoh:

what God is about to do He hath shown unto Pharaoh.

41,29 Behold, there come seven years of great plenty throughout all the land of Egypt.

41,30 And there shall arise after them seven years of famine; and all the plenty shall be forgotten in the land of Egypt; and the famine shall consume the land;

Part II Isaiah

19,9 Moreover they that work in combed flax, and they that weave cotton, shall be ashamed.

19,10 And her foundations shall be crushed, all they that make dams shall be grieved in soul.

19,11 The princes of Zoan are utter fools; the wisest counsellors of Pharaoh are a senseless counsel; how can ye say unto Pharaoh:

‘I am the son of the wise, the son of ancient kings’?

19,12 Where are they, then, thy wise men? And let them tell thee now; and let them know what the LORD of hosts hath purposed concerning Egypt.

19,13 The princes of Zoan are become fools, the princes of Noph are deceived; they have caused Egypt to go astray, that are the corner-stone of her tribes.

19,14 The LORD hath mingled within her a spirit of dizziness; and they have caused Egypt to stagger in every work thereof, as a drunken man staggereth in his vomit.

19,15 Neither shall there be for Egypt any work, which head or tail, palm-branch or rush, may do.

19,16 In that day shall Egypt be like unto women; and it shall tremble and fear because of the shaking of the hand of the LORD of hosts, which He shaketh over it.

19,17 And the land of Judah shall become a terror unto Egypt, whensoever one maketh mention thereof to it; it shall be afraid, because of the purpose of the LORD of hosts, which He purposeth against it. {S}

19,18 In that day there shall be five cities in the land of Egypt that speak the language of Canaan, and swear to the LORD of hosts; one shall be called the city of destruction. {S}

19,19 In that day shall there be an altar to the LORD in the midst of the land of Egypt, and a pillar at the border thereof to the LORD.

19,20 And it shall be for a sign and for a witness unto the LORD of hosts in the land of Egypt; for they shall cry unto the LORD because of the oppressors, and He will send them a saviour, and a defender, who will deliver them.

19,21 And the LORD shall make Himself known to Egypt, and the Egyptians shall know the LORD in that day; yea, they shall worship with sacrifice and offering, and shall vow a vow unto the LORD, and shall perform it.

19,22 And the LORD will smite Egypt, smiting and healing; and they shall return unto the LORD, and He will be entreated of them, and will heal them. {S}

19,23 In that day shall there be a highway out of Egypt to Assyria, and the Assyrian shall come into Egypt, and the Egyptian into Assyria; and the Egyptians shall worship with the Assyrians. {S}

19,24 In that day shall Israel be the third with Egypt and with Assyria, a blessing in the midst of the earth;

19,25 for that the LORD of hosts hath blessed him, saying: ‘Blessed be Egypt My people and Assyria the work of My hands, and Israel Mine inheritance.’ {S}

20,1 In the year that Tartan came into Ashdod, when Sargon the king of Assyria sent him, and he fought against Ashdod and took it;

20,2 at that time the LORD spoke by Isaiah the son of Amoz, saying:

‘Go, and loose the sackcloth from off thy loins, and put thy shoe from off thy foot.’

And he did so, walking naked and barefoot. {S}

20,3 And the LORD said:

‘Like as My servant Isaiah hath walked naked and barefoot to be for three years a sign and a wonder upon Egypt and upon Ethiopia,

20,4 so shall the king of Assyria lead away the captives of Egypt, and the exiles of Ethiopia, young and old, naked and barefoot, and with buttocks uncovered, to the shame of Egypt.

20,5 And they shall be dismayed and ashamed, because of Ethiopia their expectation, and of Egypt their glory.

20,6 And the inhabitant of this coast-land shall say in that day:

Behold, such is our expectation, whither we fled for help to be delivered from the king of Assyria; and how shall we escape?’ {P}

21,1 The burden of the wilderness of the sea. As whirlwinds in the South sweeping on, it cometh from the wilderness, from a dreadful land.

21,2 A grievous vision is declared unto me:

‘The treacherous dealer dealeth treacherously, and the spoiler spoileth. Go up, O Elam! besiege, O Media! All the sighing thereof have I made to cease.’

Part III Job

13,13 Hold your peace, let me alone, that I may speak, and let come on me what will.

13,14 Wherefore? I will take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in my hand.

13,15 Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him; but I will argue my ways before Him.

13,16 This also shall be my salvation, that a hypocrite cannot come before Him.

13,17 Hear diligently my speech, and let my declaration be in your ears.

13,18 Behold now, I have ordered my cause; I know that I shall be justified.

13,19 Who is he that will contend with me? For then would I hold my peace and die.

13,20 Only do not two things unto me, then will I not hide myself from Thee:

13,21 Withdraw Thy hand far from me; and let not Thy terror make me afraid.

13,22 Then call Thou, and I will answer; or let me speak, and answer Thou me.

13,23 How many are mine iniquities and sins? Make me to know my transgression and my sin.

13,24 Wherefore hidest Thou Thy face, and holdest me for Thine enemy?

13,25 Wilt Thou harass a driven leaf? And wilt Thou pursue the dry stubble?

13,26 That Thou shouldest write bitter things against me, and make me to inherit the iniquities of my youth.

13,27 Thou puttest my feet also in the stocks, and lookest narrowly unto all my paths; {N}

Thou drawest Thee a line about the soles of my feet;

13,28 Though I am like a wine-skin that consumeth, like a garment that is moth-eaten.

14,1 Man that is born of a woman is of few days, and full of trouble.

14,2 He cometh forth like a flower, and withereth; he fleeth also as a shadow, and continueth not.

14,3 And dost Thou open Thine eyes upon such a one, and bringest me into judgment with Thee?

14,4 Who can bring a clean thing out of an unclean? not one.

14,5 Seeing his days are determined, the number of his months is with Thee, and Thou hast appointed his bounds that he cannot pass;

Part IV The Proclamation of John the Herald – Chapter 2

ܝܘܚܢܢ

11 This is the first sign, which Jesus wrought at Cana in Galilee, and manifested his glory:

and his disciples believed on him.

12 Afterwards he went down to Capernaum, he and his mother and his brothers and his disciples; and they were there a few days.

13 And the pass over of the Jews drew near; and Jesus went up to Jerusalem.

14 And he found in the temple those who sold beeves and sheep and doves, and the money-changers sitting [there].

15 And he made himself a whip from a cord, and turned them all out of the temple, and the sheep and the beeves and the money-changers; and he poured out their money, and overset their tables:

16 and he said to them that sold doves,

Take away these things; and make not my Father’s house a house of traffic.

17 And his disciples remembered, that it is written:

The zeal of thy house hath devoured me.

18 But the Jews replied, and said to him:

What sign showest thou to us, since thou doest these things?

19 Jesus answered, and said to them:

Demolish this temple, and in three days I will again erect it.

20 The Jews said to him:

Forty and six years, this temple was building; and wilt thou build it again in three days?