Home » Torah » The January 18 Bible

The January 18 Bible

Psalm 
18,1 For the Leader. [A Psalm] of David the servant of the LORD, {N}
who spoke unto the LORD the words of this song {N}
in the day that the LORD delivered him from the hand of all his enemies, and from the hand of Saul;

18,2 And he said:
I love thee, O LORD, my strength.
18,3 The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; {N}
my God, my rock, in Him I take refuge; my shield, and my horn of salvation, my high tower.
18,4 Praised, I cry, is the LORD, and I am saved from mine enemies.
18,5 The cords of Death compassed me, and the floods of Belial assailed me.
18,6 The cords of Sheol surrounded me; the snares of Death confronted me.
18,7 In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God; {N}
out of His temple He heard my voice, and my cry came before Him unto His ears.
18,8 Then the earth did shake and quake, the foundations also of the mountains did tremble; {N}
they were shaken, because He was wroth.
18,9 Smoke arose up in His nostrils, and fire out of His mouth did devour; {N}
coals flamed forth from Him.
18,10 He bowed the heavens also, and came down; and thick darkness was under His feet.
18,11 And He rode upon a cherub, and did fly; yea, He did swoop down upon the wings of the wind.
18,12 He made darkness His hiding-place, His pavilion round about Him; {N}
darkness of waters, thick clouds of the skies.
18,13 At the brightness before Him, there passed through His thick clouds hailstones and coals of fire.
18,14 The LORD also thundered in the heavens, and the Most High gave forth His voice; hailstones and coals of fire.
18,15 And He sent out His arrows, and scattered them; and He shot forth lightnings, and discomfited them.
18,16 And the channels of waters appeared, and the foundations of the world were laid bare, {N}
at Thy rebuke, O LORD, at the blast of the breath of Thy nostrils.
18,17 He sent from on high, He took me; He drew me out of many waters.
18,18 He delivered me from mine enemy most strong, and from them that hated me, for they were too mighty for me.
18,19 They confronted me in the day of my calamity; but the LORD was a stay unto me.
18,20 He brought me forth also into a large place; He delivered me, because He delighted in me.
18,21 The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands hath He recompensed me.
18,22 For I have kept the ways of the LORD, and have not wickedly departed from my God.
18,23 For all His ordinances were before me, and I put not away His statutes from me.
18,24 And I was single-hearted with Him, and I kept myself from mine iniquity.
18,25 Therefore hath the LORD recompensed me according to my righteousness, according to the cleanness of my hands in His eyes.
18,26 With the merciful Thou dost show Thyself merciful, with the upright man Thou dost show Thyself upright;
18,27 With the pure Thou dost show Thyself pure; and with the crooked Thou dost show Thyself subtle.
18,28 For Thou dost save the afflicted people; but the haughty eyes Thou dost humble.
18,29 For Thou dost light my lamp; the LORD my God doth lighten my darkness.
18,30 For by Thee I run upon a troop; and by my God do I scale a wall.
18,31 As for God, His way is perfect; {N}
the word of the LORD is tried; He is a shield unto all them that take refuge in Him.
18,32 For who is God, save the LORD? And who is a Rock, except our God?
18,33 The God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way straight;
18,34 Who maketh my feet like hinds’, and setteth me upon my high places;
18,35 Who traineth my hands for war, so that mine arms do bend a bow of brass.
18,36 Thou hast also given me Thy shield of salvation, and Thy right hand hath holden me up; and Thy condescension hath made me great.
18,37 Thou hast enlarged my steps under me, and my feet have not slipped.
18,38 I have pursued mine enemies, and overtaken them; neither did I turn back till they were consumed.
18,39 I have smitten them through, so that they are not able to rise; they are fallen under my feet.
18,40 For Thou hast girded me with strength unto the battle; Thou hast subdued under me those that rose up against me.
18,41 Thou hast also made mine enemies turn their backs unto me, and I did cut off them that hate me.
18,42 They cried, but there was none to save; even unto the LORD, but He answered them not.
18,43 Then did I beat them small as the dust before the wind; I did cast them out as the mire of the streets.
18,44 Thou hast delivered me from the contentions of the people; Thou hast made me the head of the nations; a people whom I have not known serve me.
18,45 As soon as they hear of me, they obey me; the sons of the stranger dwindle away before me.
18,46 The sons of the stranger fade away, and come trembling out of their close places.
18,47 The LORD liveth, and blessed be my Rock; and exalted be the God of my salvation;
18,48 Even the God that executeth vengeance for me, and subdueth peoples under me.
18,49 He delivereth me from mine enemies; yea, Thou liftest me up above them that rise up against me; Thou deliverest me from the violent man.
18,50 Therefore I will give thanks unto Thee, O LORD, among the nations, and will sing praises unto Thy name.
18,51 Great salvation giveth He to His king; {N}
and showeth mercy to His anointed, to David and to his seed, for evermore. {P}
Exodus 
21,35 And if one man’s ox hurt another’s, so that it dieth; then they shall sell the live ox, and divide the price of it; and the dead also they shall divide.
21,36 Or if it be known that the ox was wont to gore in time past, and its owner hath not kept it in; he shall surely pay ox for ox, and the dead beast shall be his own. {S}
21,37 If a man steal an ox, or a sheep, and kill it, or sell it, he shall pay five oxen for an ox, and four sheep for a sheep.
22,1 If a thief be found breaking in, and be smitten so that he dieth, there shall be no bloodguiltiness for him.
22,2 If the sun be risen upon him, there shall be bloodguiltiness for him–
he shall make restitution; if he have nothing, then he shall be sold for his theft.
22,3 If the theft be found in his hand alive, whether it be ox, or ass, or sheep, he shall pay double. {S}
22,4 If a man cause a field or vineyard to be eaten, and shall let his beast loose, and it feed in another man’s field; of the best of his own field, and of the best of his own vineyard, shall he make restitution. {S}
22,5 If fire break out, and catch in thorns, so that the shocks of corn, or the standing corn, or the field are consumed; he that kindled the fire shall surely make restitution. {S}
22,6 If a man deliver unto his neighbour money or stuff to keep, and it be stolen out of the man’s house; if the thief be found, he shall pay double.
22,7 If the thief be not found, then the master of the house shall come near unto God, to see whether he have not put his hand unto his neighbour’s goods.
22,8 For every matter of trespass, whether it be for ox, for ass, for sheep, for raiment, or for any manner of lost thing, whereof one saith:
‘This is it,’
the cause of both parties shall come before God; he whom God shall condemn shall pay double unto his neighbour. {S}
22,9 If a man deliver unto his neighbour an ass, or an ox, or a sheep, or any beast, to keep, and it die, or be hurt, or driven away, no man seeing it;
22,10 the oath of the LORD shall be between them both, to see whether he have not put his hand unto his neighbour’s goods; and the owner thereof shall accept it, and he shall not make restitution.
22,11 But if it be stolen from him, he shall make restitution unto the owner thereof.
22,12 If it be torn in pieces, let him bring it for witness; he shall not make good that which was torn. {P}
22,13 And if a man borrow aught of his neighbour, and it be hurt, or die, the owner thereof not being with it, he shall surely make restitution.
22,14 If the owner thereof be with it, he shall not make it good; if it be a hireling, he loseth his hire. {S}
Joshua 
17,13 And it came to pass, when the children of Israel were waxen strong, that they put the Canaanites to taskwork, but did not utterly drive them out. {S}
17,14 And the children of Joseph spoke unto Joshua, saying:
‘Why hast thou given me but one lot and one part for an inheritance, seeing I am a great people, forasmuch as the LORD hath blessed me thus?’
17,15 And Joshua said unto them:
‘If thou be a great people, get thee up to the forest, and cut down for thyself there in the land of the Perizzites and of the Rephaim; since the hill-country of Ephraim is too narrow for thee.’
17,16 And the children of Joseph said:
‘The hill-country will not be enough for us; and all the Canaanites that dwell in the land of the valley have chariots of iron, both they who are in Beth-shean and its towns, and they who are in the valley of Jezreel.’
17,17 And Joshua spoke unto the house of Joseph, even to Ephraim and to Manasseh, saying:
‘Thou art a great people, and hast great power; thou shalt not have one lot only;
17,18 but the hill-country shall be thine; for though it is a forest, thou shalt cut it down, and the goings out thereof shall be thine; for thou shalt drive out the Canaanites, though they have chariots of iron, and though they be strong.’ {P}

18,1 And the whole congregation of the children of Israel assembled themselves together at Shiloh, and set up the tent of meeting there; and the land was subdued before them.

18,2 And there remained among the children of Israel seven tribes, which had not yet received their inheritance.
18,3 And Joshua said unto the children of Israel:
‘How long are ye slack to go in to possess the land, which the LORD, the God of your fathers, hath given you?
18,4 Appoint for you three men for each tribe; and I will send them, and they shall arise, and walk through the land, and describe it according to their inheritance; and they shall come unto me.
18,5 And they shall divide it into seven portions: Judah shall abide in his border on the south, and the house of Joseph shall abide in their border on the north.
18,6 And ye shall describe the land into seven portions, and bring the description hither to me; and I will cast lots for you here before the LORD our God.
18,7 For the Levites have no portion among you, for the priesthood of the LORD is their inheritance; and Gad and Reuben and the half-tribe of Manasseh have received their inheritance beyond the Jordan eastward, which Moses the servant of the LORD gave them.’
18,8 And the men arose, and went; and Joshua charged them that went to describe the land, saying:
‘Go and walk through the land, and describe it, and come back to me, and I will cast lots for you here before the LORD in Shiloh.’
18,9 And the men went and passed through the land, and described it by cities into seven portions in a book, and they came to Joshua unto the camp at Shiloh.
18,10 And Joshua cast lots for them in Shiloh before the LORD; and there Joshua divided the land unto the children of Israel according to their divisions. {P}

18,11 And the lot of the tribe of the children of Benjamin came up according to their families; and the border of their lot went out between the children of Judah and the children of Joseph.

18,12 And their border on the north side was from the Jordan; and the border went up to the side of Jericho on the north, and went up through the hill-country westward; and the goings out thereof were at the wilderness of Beth-aven.
18,13 And the border passed along from thence to Luz, to the side of Luz–
the same is Beth-el–
southward; and the border went down to Atroth-addar, by the mountain that lieth on the south of Beth-horon the nether.
18,14 And the border was drawn and turned about on the west side southward, from the mountain that lieth before Beth-horon southward; and the goings out thereof were at Kiriath-baal–
the same is Kiriath-jearim–
a city of the children of Judah; this was the west side.
18,15 And the south side was from the uttermost part of Kiriath-jearim, and the border went out westward, and went out to the fountain of the waters of Nephtoah.
18,16 And the border went down to the uttermost part of the mountain that lieth before the Valley of the son of Hinnom, which is in the vale of Rephaim northward; and it went down to the Valley of Hinnom, to the side of the Jebusite southward, and went down to En-rogel.
18,17 And it was drawn on the north, and went out at En-shemesh, and went out to Geliloth, which is over against the ascent of Adummim; and it went down to the Stone of Bohan the son of Reuben.
18,18 And it passed along to the side over against the Arabah northward, and went down unto the Arabah.
18,19 And the border passed along to the side of Beth-hoglah northward; and the goings out of the border were at the north bay of the Salt Sea, at the south end of the Jordan; this was the south border.
18,20 And the Jordan was to be the border of it on the east side. This was the inheritance of the children of Benjamin, by the borders thereof round about, according to their families. {P}
Proverbs 

10,8 The wise in heart will receive commandments; but a prating fool shall fall.
10,9 He that walketh uprightly walketh securely; but he that perverteth his ways shall be found out.
10,10 He that winketh with the eye causeth sorrow; and a prating fool shall fall.
10,11 The mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life; but the mouth of the wicked concealeth violence.
10,12 Hatred stirreth up strifes; but love covereth all transgressions.
10,13 In the lips of him that hath discernment wisdom is found; but a rod is for the back of him that is void of understanding.
10,14 Wise men lay up knowledge; but the mouth of the foolish is an imminent ruin.
10,15 The rich man’s wealth is his strong city; the ruin of the poor is their poverty.
10,16 The wages of the righteous is life; the increase of the wicked is sin.
10,17 He is in the way of life that heedeth instruction; but he that forsaketh reproof erreth.
10,18 He that hideth hatred is of lying lips; and he that uttereth a slander is a fool.
10,19 In the multitude of words there wanteth not transgression; but he that refraineth his lips is wise.
10,20 The tongue of the righteous is as choice silver; the heart of the wicked is little worth.
10,21 The lips of the righteous feed many; but the foolish die for want of understanding.
10,22 The blessing of the LORD, it maketh rich, and toil addeth nothing thereto.
10,23 It is as sport to a fool to do wickedness, and so is wisdom to a man of discernment.
The Announcement of Matthew – Chapter 7
ܡܬܝ

24 Every one therefore that heareth these my discourses, and doeth them, will be like to a wise man, one that built his house upon a rock.

25 And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew; and they rushed upon that house; and it fell not, for its foundations were laid upon a rock.

26 And every one that heareth these my discourses, and doeth them not, will be like a foolish man that built his house upon sand.

27 And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew; and they rushed upon that house, and it fell; and great was the ruin of it.

28 And so it was, that when Jesus had ended these discourses, the multitudes were astonished at his teaching:

29 for he taught them as one having authority; and not as their Scribes and Pharisees.

The Announcement of Matthew – Chapter 8
ܡܬܝ

1 And as he descended from the mountain, great multitudes gathered around him.

 
The Book of Acts – Chapter 4
܀ ܦܪܟܣܣ ܕܫܠܝ̈ܚܐ ܀
5 And the next day, the rulers and the Elders and the Scribes assembled;
6 and also Annas the high priest, and Caiaphas, and John, and Alexander, and they who were of the kindred of the high priests.
7 And when they had set them in the midst, they interrogated them:
By what power or what name, have ye done this ?
8 Then Simon Cephas was filled with the Holy Spirit, and said to them:
Ye rulers of the people, and Elders of the house of Israel, hear ye.
9 If we are judged by you this day, respecting the good deed done to the infirm man, by what means he was healed;
10 be it known to you, and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Messiah the Nazarean, whom ye crucified, and whom God hath raised from the dead, lo, by him, doth this [man] stand here before you recovered.
Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

