Home » Torah » Psalm 16 *I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

Psalm 16 *I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

Chapter 16 *I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

א מִכְתָּם לְדָוִד: שָׁמְרֵנִי אֵל, כִּי-חָסִיתִי בָךְ. 1

Michtam of David.

Keep me, O God; for I have taken refuge in Thee.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ב אָמַרְתְּ לַיהוָה, אֲדֹנָי אָתָּה; טוֹבָתִי, בַּל-עָלֶיךָ. 2

I have said unto jehovah:

‘Thou art my Lord; I have no good but in Thee’;

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ג לִקְדוֹשִׁים, אֲשֶׁר-בָּאָרֶץ הֵמָּה; וְאַדִּירֵי, כָּל-חֶפְצִי-בָם. 3

To the Holy One that is in the earth, that is the excellence in whom is all my delight.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ד יִרְבּוּ עַצְּבוֹתָם, אַחֵר מָהָרוּ:

בַּל-אַסִּיךְ נִסְכֵּיהֶם מִדָּם; וּבַל-אֶשָּׂא אֶת-שְׁמוֹתָם, עַל-שְׂפָתָי. 4

Let the idols of them be multiplied that make suit unto another; {N}

their drink-offerings of blood will I not offer, nor take their names upon my lips.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ה יְהוָה, מְנָת-חֶלְקִי וְכוֹסִי– אַתָּה, תּוֹמִיךְ גּוֹרָלִי. 5

O jehovah, the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup, Thou maintainest my lot.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ו חֲבָלִים נָפְלוּ-לִי, בַּנְּעִמִים; אַף-נַחֲלָת, שָׁפְרָה עָלָי. 6

The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ז אֲבָרֵךְ–אֶת-יְהוָה, אֲשֶׁר יְעָצָנִי; אַף-לֵילוֹת, יִסְּרוּנִי כִלְיוֹתָי. 7

I will bless jehovah, who hath given me counsel; yea, in the night seasons my reins instruct me.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ח שִׁוִּיתִי יְהוָה לְנֶגְדִּי תָמִיד: כִּי מִימִינִי, בַּל-אֶמּוֹט. 8

I have set jehovah always before me; surely He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

ט לָכֵן, שָׂמַח לִבִּי–וַיָּגֶל כְּבוֹדִי; אַף-בְּשָׂרִי, יִשְׁכֹּן לָבֶטַח. 9

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth; my flesh also dwelleth in safety;

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

י כִּי, לֹא-תַעֲזֹב נַפְשִׁי לִשְׁאוֹל; לֹא-תִתֵּן חֲסִידְךָ, לִרְאוֹת שָׁחַת. 10

For Thou wilt not abandon my soul to the nether-world; neither wilt Thou suffer Thy godly one to see the pit.

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

יא תּוֹדִיעֵנִי, אֹרַח חַיִּים:

שֹׂבַע שְׂמָחוֹת, אֶת-פָּנֶיךָ; נְעִמוֹת בִּימִינְךָ נֶצַח. 11

Thou makest me to know the path of life; {N}

in Thy presence is fulness of joy, in Thy right hand bliss for evermore. {P}

*I Have Taken Refuge in Thee*

Please reply "Lamp" if you read this. Thank you!

