Home » Torah » The February 26 Bible

The February 26 Bible

Psalms

57,1 For the Leader; Al-tashheth. [A Psalm] of David; Michtam; when he fled from Saul, in the cave.

57,2 Be gracious unto me, O God, be gracious unto me, for in Thee hath my soul taken refuge; {N}

yea, in the shadow of Thy wings will I take refuge, until calamities be overpast.

57,3 I will cry unto God Most high; unto God that accomplisheth it for me.

57,4 He will send from heaven, and save me, when he that would swallow me up taunteth;

Selah {N}

God shall send forth His mercy and His truth.

57,5 My soul is among lions, I do lie down among them that are aflame; {N}

even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword.

57,6 Be Thou exalted, O God, above the heavens; Thy glory be above all the earth.

57,7 They have prepared a net for my steps, my soul is bowed down; {N}

they have digged a pit before me, they are fallen into the midst thereof themselves.

Selah

57,8 My heart is stedfast, O God, my heart is stedfast; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises.

57,9 Awake, my glory; awake, psaltery and harp; I will awake the dawn.

57,10 I will give thanks unto Thee, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises unto Thee among the nations.

57,11 For Thy mercy is great unto the heavens, and Thy truth unto the skies.

57,12 Be Thou exalted, O God, above the heavens; Thy glory be above all the earth. {P}

Leviticus

3,1 And if his offering be a sacrifice of peace-offerings:

if he offer of the herd, whether male or female, he shall offer it without blemish before the LORD.

3,2 And he shall lay his hand upon the head of his offering, and kill it at the door of the tent of meeting; and Aaron’s sons the priests shall dash the blood against the altar round about.

3,3 And he shall present of the sacrifice of peace-offerings an offering made by fire unto the LORD:

the fat that covereth the inwards, and all the fat that is upon the inwards,

3,4 and the two kidneys, and the fat that is on them, which is by the loins, and the lobe above the liver, which he shall take away hard by the kidneys.

3,5 And Aaron’s sons shall make it smoke on the altar upon the burnt-offering, which is upon the wood that is on the fire; it is an offering made by fire, of a sweet savour unto the LORD. {P}

3,6 And if his offering for a sacrifice of peace-offerings unto the LORD be of the flock, male or female, he shall offer it without blemish.

3,7 If he bring a lamb for his offering, then shall he present it before the LORD.

3,8 And he shall lay his hand upon the head of his offering, and kill it before the tent of meeting; and Aaron’s sons shall dash the blood thereof against the altar round about.

3,9 And he shall present of the sacrifice of peace-offerings an offering made by fire unto the LORD:

the fat thereof, the fat tail entire, which he shall take away hard by the rump-bone; and the fat that covereth the inwards, and all the fat that is upon the inwards,

3,10 and the two kidneys, and the fat that is upon them, which is by the loins, and the lobe above the liver, which he shall take away by the kidneys.

3,11 And the priest shall make it smoke upon the altar; it is the food of the offering made by fire unto the LORD. {P}

3,12 And if his offering be a goat, then he shall present it before the LORD.

3,13 And he shall lay his hand upon the head of it, and kill it before the tent of meeting; and the sons of Aaron shall dash the blood thereof against the altar round about.

3,14 And he shall present thereof his offering, even an offering made by fire unto the LORD:

the fat that covereth the inwards, and all the fat that is upon the inwards,

3,15 and the two kidneys, and the fat that is upon them, which is by the loins, and the lobe above the liver, which he shall take away by the kidneys.

3,16 And the priest shall make them smoke upon the altar; it is the food of the offering made by fire, for a sweet savour; all the fat is the LORD’S.

3,17 It shall be a perpetual statute throughout your generations in all your dwellings, that ye shall eat neither fat nor blood. {P}

Samuel

1 9,5 When they were come to the land of Zuph, Saul said to his servant that was with him:

‘Come and let us return; lest my father leave caring for the asses, and become anxious concerning us.’

1 9,6 And he said unto him:

‘Behold now, there is in this city a man of God, and he is a man that is held in honour; all that he saith cometh surely to pass; now let us go thither; peradventure he can tell us concerning our journey whereon we go.’

1 9,7 Then said Saul to his servant:

‘But, behold, if we go, what shall we bring the man? for the bread is spent in our vessels, and there is not a present to bring to the man of God; what have we?’

1 9,8 And the servant answered Saul again, and said:

‘Behold, I have in my hand the fourth part of a shekel of silver, that will I give to the man of God, to tell us our way.’–

1 9,9 Beforetime in Israel, when a man went to inquire of God, thus he said:

‘Come and let us go to the seer’;

for he that is now called a prophet was beforetime called a seer.–

1 9,10 Then said Saul to his servant:

‘Well said; come, let us go.’

So they went unto the city where the man of God was.

1 9,11 As they went up the ascent to the city, they found young maidens going out to draw water, and said unto them:

‘Is the seer here?’

1 9,12 And they answered them, and said:

‘He is; behold, he is before thee; make haste now, for he is come to-day into the city; for the people have a sacrifice to-day in the high place.

1 9,13 As soon as ye are come into the city, ye shall straightway find him, before he go up to the high place to eat; for the people will not eat until he come, because he doth bless the sacrifice; and afterwards they eat that are bidden. Now therefore get you up; for at this time ye shall find him.’

1 9,14 And they went up to the city; and as they came within the city, behold, Samuel came out toward them, to go up to the high place. {S}

1 9,15 Now the LORD had revealed unto Samuel a day before Saul came, saying:

1 9,16 ‘To-morrow about this time I will send thee a man out of the land of Benjamin, and thou shalt anoint him to be prince over My people Israel, and he shall save My people out of the hand of the Philistines; for I have looked upon My people, because their cry is come unto Me.’

1 9,17 And when Samuel saw Saul, the LORD spoke unto him:

‘Behold the man of whom I said unto thee:

This same shall have authority over My people.’

1 9,18 Then Saul drew near to Samuel in the gate, and said:

‘Tell me, I pray thee, where the seer’s house is.’

1 9,19 And Samuel answered Saul, and said:

‘I am the seer; go up before me unto the high place, for ye shall eat with me to-day; and in the morning I will let thee go, and will tell thee all that is in thy heart.

1 9,20 And as for thine asses that were lost three days ago, set not thy mind on them; for they are found. And on whom is all the desire of Israel? Is it not on thee, and on all thy father’s house?’ {S}

1 9,21 And Saul answered and said:

‘Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? and my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? wherefore then speakest thou to me after this manner?’ {S}

1 9,22 And Samuel took Saul and his servant, and brought them into the chamber, and made them sit in the chiefest place among them that were bidden, who were about thirty persons.

1 9,23 And Samuel said unto the cook:

‘Bring the portion which I gave thee, of which I said unto thee:

Set it by thee.’

1 9,24 And the cook took up the thigh, and that which was upon it, and set it before Saul. And [Samuel] said:

‘Behold that which hath been reserved! set it before thee and eat; because unto the appointed time hath it been kept for thee, for I said:

I have invited the people.’

So Saul did eat with Samuel that day.

1 9,25 And when they were come down from the high place into the city, he spoke with Saul upon the housetop.

1 9,26 And they arose early; and it came to pass about the break of day, that Samuel called to Saul on the housetop, saying:

‘Up, that I may send thee away.’

And Saul arose, and they went out both of them, he and Samuel, abroad.

1 9,27 As they were going down at the end of the city, Samuel said to Saul:

‘Bid the servant pass on before us–

and he passed on–

but stand thou still at this time, that I may cause thee to hear the word of God.’ {P}

1 10,1 Then Samuel took the vial of oil, and poured it upon his head, and kissed him, and said:

‘Is it not that the LORD hath anointed thee to be prince over His inheritance?

1 10,2 When thou art departed from me to-day, then thou shalt find two men by the tomb of Rachel, in the border of Benjamin at Zelzah; and they will say unto thee:

The asses which thou wentest to seek are found; and, lo, thy father hath left off caring for the asses, and is anxious concerning you, saying: What shall I do for my son?

1 10,3 Then shalt thou go on forward from thence, and thou shalt come to the terebinth of Tabor, and there shall meet thee there three men going up to God to Beth-el, one carrying three kids, and another carrying three loaves of bread, and another carrying a bottle of wine.

Proverbs

30,1 The words of Agur the son of Jakeh; the burden. The man saith unto Ithiel, unto Ithiel and Ucal:

30,2 Surely I am brutish, unlike a man, and have not the understanding of a man;

30,3 And I have not learned wisdom, that I should have the knowledge of the Holy One.

30,4 Who hath ascended up into heaven, and descended? {N}

Who hath gathered the wind in his fists? Who hath bound the waters in his garment? {N}

Who hath established all the ends of the earth? {N}

What is his name, and what is his son’s name, if thou knowest?

30,5 Every word of God is tried; He is a shield unto them that take refuge in Him.

30,6 Add thou not unto His words, lest He reprove thee, and thou be found a liar. {P}

30,7 Two things have I asked of Thee; deny me them not before I die:

30,8 Remove far from me falsehood and lies; give me neither poverty nor riches; {N}

feed me with mine allotted bread;

30,9 Lest I be full, and deny, and say:

‘Who is the LORD?’ {N}

Or lest I be poor, and steal, and profane the name of my God. {P}

30,10 Slander not a servant unto his master, lest he curse thee, and thou be found guilty.

30,11 There is a generation that curse their father, and do not bless their mother.

30,12 There is a generation that are pure in their own eyes, and yet are not washed from their filthiness.

30,13 There is a generation, Oh how lofty are their eyes! and their eyelids are lifted up.

30,14 There is a generation whose teeth are as swords, and their great teeth as knives, {N}

to devour the poor from off the earth, and the needy from among men.

30,15 The horseleech hath two daughters:

‘Give, give.’ {N}

There are three things that are never satisfied, yea, four that say not:

‘Enough’:

30,16 The grave; and the barren womb; the earth that is not satisfied with water; and the fire that saith not: ‘Enough.’

The Announcement of Matthew – Chapter 17

25 He said to them,

Yes.

And when Cephas had entered the house, Jesus anticipated him and said to him:

How doth it appear to thee, Simon? The kings of the earth, of whom do they receive tribute and capitation money ? of their children, or of aliens ?

26 Simon said to him:

Of aliens.

Jesus said to him:

Then the children are free.

27 But still, lest they be stumbled with us, go thou to the sea and cast in a fish-hook, and the fish that shall first come up, open its mouth, and thou wilt find a stater :

that take, and give for me and for thyself.

The Announcement of Matthew – Chapter 18

1 In that hour the disciples approached Jesus, and said:

Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?

2 And Jesus called a child, and placed him in the midst of them,

3 and said:

Verily I say to you, that unless ye be converted, and become like children, ye will not enter the kingdom of heaven.

4 He therefore that shall humble himself like this child, he will be great in the kingdom of heaven.

5 And he that shall receive in my name [one who is] like to this child, he receiveth me.

6 And whosoever shall stumble one of these little ones that believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were suspended to his neck, and that he were sunk in the depths of the sea.

7 Woe to the world because of stumbling blocks ! For it must be, that stumbling blocks come.

But, woe to the person by whose means the stumbling blocks come.

8 If then thy hand or thy foot make thee stumble, cut it off and cast it from thee:

for it is good for thee to enter into life lame or mutilated, and not that, with two hands or two feet, thou fall into eternal fire.

The Book of Acts – Chapter 9

10 And there was in Damascus a certain disciple, whose name was Ananias. And the Lord said to him, in a vision:

Ananias !

And he said:

Lo, I [am here], my Lord.

11 And our Lord said to him:

Arise, go to the street which is called Straight; and inquire in the house of Judas, for Saul who is from the city of Tarsus: for, lo, while he prayed,

12 he saw in vision a man named Ananias, who came and laid his hand upon him, that his eyes might be opened.

13 And Ananias said:

My Lord, I have heard of this man, from many, how much evil he hath perpetrated towards thy saints at Jerusalem.

14 And, lo, here also, he hath authority from the chief priests, to bind all them that call on thy name.

15 The Lord said to him:

Arise and go; for he is to me a chosen vessel, to carry my name to the Gentiles, and to kings, and among the sons of Israel.

Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

