Home » Torah » Bible4 ” I am the way, and truth, and life”

Bible4 ” I am the way, and truth, and life”

The Proclamation of John the Herald – Chapter 14

1 Let not your heart be troubled:
believe in God, and, believe in me.

2 There are many mansions in the house of my Father:
and if not, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you.
3 And if I go to prepare for you a place, I will come again and take you to myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.
4 And whither I go, ye know; and the way ye know.
5 Thomas said to him:
Our Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way?
6 Jesus said to him:
I am the way, and truth, and life:
no one cometh unto my Father, but by me.
7 If ye had known me, ye would also have known my Father:
and henceforth, ye know him, and have seen him.
8 Philip said to him:
Our Lord, show us the Father, and it will suffice for us.
9 Jesus said to him:
Have I been all this time with you, and hast thou not known me, Philip?
He that seeth me, seeth the Father:
and how sayest thou, Show us the Father?
10 Believest thou not, that I am in* my Father, and my Father in me?
And the words which I speak, I speak not from myself:
but my Father, who dwelleth in me, he doeth these works.
11 Believe, that I am in my Father, and my Father in me.
And if not, believe, at least, on account of the works.
12 Verily, verily, I say to you:
He that believeth in me, the works which I do, will he also do.
And greater than these will he do, because I go unto my Father.
13 And what ye shall ask in my name, I will do for you; that the Father may be glorified* in his Son.
14 And if ye shall ask of me, in my name, I will do [it].
15 If ye love me, keep my commands.
16 And I will ask of my Father, and he will give you another Comforter, that he may be with you for ever,
17 the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, and knoweth him not: but ye know him, because he abideth with you, and is in you.
18 I shall not leave you orphans:
for I shall come to you in a little while.
19 And the world will not see me; but ye will see me.
Because I live, ye will live also.
20 In that day ye will know, that I am in my Father; and that ye are in me, and I in you.
21 He, with whom are my commands, and who keepeth them, he it is that loveth me.
And he that loveth me, will be loved by my Father:
and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.
22 Judas, not Iscariot, said to him:
My Lord, how is it that thou art to manifest thyself to us, and not to the world?
23 Jesus answered, and said to him:
He that loveth me, observeth my instruction; and my Father will love him, and we will come to him, and make our abode with him.
* 24 But he that loveth me not, observeth not my instruction.
And the instruction which ye hear, is not mine, but the Father’s who sent me.
25 These things have I said to you, while I was with you.
*26 But the Comforter, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you every thing, and will remind you of all that I say to you.
27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you.
It is not as the world giveth, that I give to you.
Let not your heart be troubled, nor be afraid.
28 Ye have heard what I said to you that I go away, and come [again] to you. If ye had loved me, ye would have rejoiced, that I go to my Father; for my Father is greater than I
29 And now, lo, I have told you, before it occurreth; so that when it shall have occurred, ye may believe.
30 Hereafter I shall not converse much with you; for the ruler of this world cometh, and hath nothing in me.
31 But that the world may know, that I love my Father, and as my Father commanded me, so I do.
Arise; let us go hence.
* comment: v.24 only in love can we walk His Commandments.
v. 26 [v. 10] as Christ came in the name of the Father, so the Spirit – the three are One. Christ and the Father are One [v.9]."The way, truth, life". v. 13 ‘glory’ means presence by ‘weight’ authority – truth carries weight.

1 Maccabees 16 KJVA

1 Then came up John from Gazera, and told Simon his father what Cendebeus had done. 2 Wherefore Simon called his two eldest sons, Judas and John, and said unto them, I, and my brethren, and my father’s house, have ever from my youth unto this day fought against the enemies of Israel; and things have prospered so well in our hands, that we have delivered Israel oftentimes. 3 But now I am old, and ye, by God’s mercy, are of a sufficient age: be ye instead of me and my brother, and go and fight for our nation, and the help from heaven be with you. 4 So he chose out of the country twenty thousand men of war with horsemen, who went out against Cendebeus, and rested that night at Modin. 5 And when as they rose in the morning, and went into the plain, behold, a mighty great host both of footmen and horsemen came against them: howbeit there was a water brook betwixt them. 6 So he and his people pitched over against them: and when he saw that the people were afraid to go over the water brook, he went first over himself, and then the men seeing him passed through after him. 7 That done, he divided his men, and set the horsemen in the midst of the footmen: for the enemies’ horsemen were very many. 8 Then sounded they with the holy trumpets: whereupon Cendebeus and his host were put to flight, so that many of them were slain, and the remnant gat them to the strong hold. 9 At that time was Judas John’s brother wounded; but John still followed after them, until he came to Cedron, which Cendebeus had built. 10 So they fled even unto the towers in the fields of Azotus; wherefore he burned it with fire: so that there were slain of them about two thousand men. Afterward he returned into the land of Judea in peace. 11 Moreover in the plain of Jericho was Ptolemeus the son of Abubus made captain, and he had abundance of silver and gold: 12 For he was the high priest’s son in law. 13 Wherefore his heart being lifted up, he thought to get the country to himself, and thereupon consulted deceitfully against Simon and his sons to destroy them. 14 Now Simon was visiting the cities that were in the country, and taking care for the good ordering of them; at which time he came down himself to Jericho with his sons, Mattathias and Judas, in the hundred threescore and seventeenth year, in the eleventh month, called Sabat: 15 Where the son of Abubus receiving them deceitfully into a little hold, called Docus, which he had built, made them a great banquet: howbeit he had hid men there. 16 So when Simon and his sons had drunk largely, Ptolemee and his men rose up, and took their weapons, and came upon Simon into the banqueting place, and slew him, and his two sons, and certain of his servants. 17 In which doing he committed a great treachery, and recompensed evil for good. 18 Then Ptolemee wrote these things, and sent to the king, that he should send him an host to aid him, and he would deliver him the country and cities. 19 He sent others also to Gazera to kill John: and unto the tribunes he sent letters to come unto him, that he might give them silver, and gold, and rewards. 20 And others he sent to take Jerusalem, and the mountain of the temple. 21 Now one had run afore to Gazera and told John that his father and brethren were slain, and, quoth he, Ptolemee hath sent to slay thee also. 22 Hereof when he heard, he was sore astonished: so he laid hands on them that were come to destroy him, and slew them; for he knew that they sought to make him away. 23 As concerning the rest of the acts of John, and his wars, and worthy deeds which he did, and the building of the walls which he made, and his doings, 24 Behold, these are written in the chronicles of his priesthood, from the time he was made high priest after his father.

1 Maccabees 16 KJVA

Please reply "Lamp" if you read this. Thank you!

