Home » Torah » Thursday Gospel ‘If my commandments you will keep you shall abide’

Thursday Gospel ‘If my commandments you will keep you shall abide’


The Preaching Of Juchanon – Chapter 13ܝܘܚܢܢ


XXXIII. 13:1

NOW before the feast of petscha, Jeshu knew that his hour was come, and that he should pass from this world unto his Father, and he had loved his who were in this world, and unto the end he had loved them.

And when was the supper, Satana had cast it into the heart of Jihuda bar Shemun Scarjuta to betray him.

But Jeshu himself, because he knew that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that from Aloha he had come forth, and unto Aloha he was going, riseth from supper, and setteth his garments apart, and took a towel, (and) bound (it) upon his loins; and he poured water into a basin, and began to wash the feet of his disciples, and wiped (them) with the towel that he had bound upon his loins.

But when he came to Shemun Kipha, Shemun said to him,

Dost thou, my Lord, wash my feet for me ?

 

Jeshu answered and said to him,

What I do, thou knowest not now; but afterward thou shalt know.

 

Shemun Kipha saith to him,

Never shalt thou wash for me my feet.

 

Jeshu saith to him, If I do not wash thee, thou hast with me no part.

 

Shemun Kipha saith to him,

Then, my Lord, not only my feet shalt thou wash for me, but also my hands, also my head.

 

Jeshu saith,

He that hath bathed needeth not but his feet only to wash, for all of him he hath cleansed:

also you are clean, but not all of you.

For Jeshu knew who was betraying him; therefore he said,

Ye are not all of you clean.

 

But when he had washed their feet, he took up his garments and reclined, and said to them,

Know you what I have done for you ?

You call me Our Master, and Our Lord; and well say you, for I am.

If I then, your Lord and your Master, have washed for you your feet, how much more ought you to wash the feet of one another ?

For this pattern have I given you, that as I have done to you, you also should do.

Amen, amen, I say to you, The servant is not greater than his lord; nor (is) the apostle greater than he who sent him.

If these you know, happy are you if you do them.

Not of all of you do I speak; for I know those whom I have chosen; but that the scripture might be fulfilled, that he who eateth bread with me hath lifted against me his heel.

Now I tell you before it shall be, that when it is done you may believe that I am.

Amen, amen, I say to you, Whoever receiveth him whom I send receiveth me; and whoever receiveth me receiveth him who sent me.

 

These said Jeshu, and was agitated in his spirit, and testified, and said,

Amen, amen, I say to you, That one of you shall betray me.

But the disciples looked one on the other, because they knew not concerning whom he spake.

Now there was of his disciples one who reclined on his bosom; he whom Jeshu loved.

To this signed Shemun Kipha that he would ask of whom it was that he spake.

And that disciple fell upon the bosom of Jeshu, and said to him,

My Lord, who is this?

Jeshu answered and said to him,

He to whom I give the dipped bread.

And Jeshu dipped the bread and gave it to Jihuda bar Shemun Scarjuta.

Then after the bread Satana entered into him.

And Jeshu said to him,

What thou doest, do with speed !

But this no man knew of those who reclined of what he spake to him.

For some of them thought that as Jihuda had the purse, he had instructed him to buy something that should be required at the feast, or that he should give somewhat to the poor.

But he, Jihuda, received the bread and immediately went out:

and it was night when he went out.

XXXIV. 13:31

AND Jeshu said,

Now is glorified the Son of man, and Aloha is glorified in him.

And if Aloha is glorified in him, Aloha shall glorify him in himself, and at once doth glorify him.

My sons, a little longer I am with you, and you will seek me; and, as I said to the Jihudoyee, Whither I go you cannot come, so to you say I now.

A new commandment give I to you, that you should love one another; as I have loved you, so do you also love one another.

By this shall all men know that you are my disciples, if love be in you one for another.

 

Shemun Kipha said to him, Our Lord, whither goest thou ?

 

Jeshu said to him,

Whither I go, thou canst not now come after me; but at the last thou shalt come.

 

Shemun Kipha saith to him,

My Lord, why cannot I come after thee now ?

My life for thee lay I down.

 

Jeshu saith to him, Dost thou lay down thy life for me !

Amen, amen, I tell thee, That the cock will not crow, until thou shalt have denied me three times.

The Preaching Of Juchanon – Chapter 14

ܝܘܚܢܢ


XXXV. 14:1

LET not your heart be troubled:

believe in Aloha, and in me believe.

Many are the mansions of my Father’s house:

and if not, I would have told you; for I go to prepare for you a place.

And if I go to prepare for you a place, I will come again and take you with me, that where I am you also may be.

And whither I go you know, and the way you know.

 

Thoma saith to him,

Our Lord, we know not whither thou goest, and how can we know the way ?

 

Jeshu saith to him, I (am) the way, and the truth, and the life.

No man cometh unto my Father unless by me.

But if me you had known, my Father also would you have known:

and henceforth you know him and have seen him.

 

Philipos saith to him,

Our Lord, show us the Father, and it sufficeth us.

 

Jeshu saith to him,

All this time have I been with you, and hast thou not known me, Philipé?

He who me seeth, seeth the Father; and how sayest thou, Show us the Father ?

Believest thou not that I am in my Father and my Father in me ?

And these words that I speak, I speak not from myself, but my Father who dwelleth in me, he doeth these works.

Believe that I am in my Father and my Father in me; and if not, even on account of the works, believe.

Amen, amen, I say to you, That whosoever believeth in me, these works that I do shall he do also; and more than these shall he do, because I go unto my Father.

And whatsoever you shall ask in my name, I will do for you, that the Father may be glorified in his Son.

And if you shall ask (of) me in my name, I will do.

XXXVI. 14:15

IF you love me, keep my commandments; and I will pray of my Father, and another Paraclete * will he give you, who will be with you for ever, the Spirit of truth, he whom the world cannot receive, because it doth not see him, nor know him.

But you know him; for with you he dwelleth, and in you is.

I will not leave you orphans; for I will come to you a little after.

And the world seeth me not, but you shall see me; for because I live, you also shall live.

In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you.

He who hath my commandments and keepeth them is he who loveth me; and he who loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest to him myself.

 

Jihuda saith to him, (it was not Scarjuta,)

My Lord, how to us wilt thou manifest thyself, and not to the world ?

 

Jeshu replied, and said to him,

He who loveth me, my word keepeth, and my Father will love him, and unto him we come, and a dwelling-place † with him we make.

But he who loveth me not, keepeth not my word.

And the word that you hear is not mine, but of the Father who sent me.

These have I spoken with you while I am with you.

But he, the Paraclete, the Spirit of Holiness, whom the Father sendeth in my name, he shall teach you every thing, and he shall remind you of all that I have said to you.

 

PEACE I leave with you; my peace I give to you:

not as the world giveth, give I unto you.

Let not your heart be troubled, nor be afraid.

You have heard what I have told you, that I go, and come to you (again).

If you had loved me, you would have rejoiced, because I go to my Father; for my Father is greater than I.

And now, behold, I have told you while it is not done, that when it has been you may believe.

Henceforth I will not speak with you much; for the ruler of the world cometh, and in me hath he nothing.

But that the world may know that I love my Father, and as my Father hath commanded, so I do.

Arise, let us go hence !

The Preaching Of Juchanon – Chapter 15ܝܘܚܢܢ

I am the true vine,‡ and my Father is the husbandman.

Every branch which in me giveth not fruits he taketh away; and that which giveth fruits he cleanseth, that more fruits it may give.

Now are you clean because of the word which I have spoken with you.

Abide in me, and I in you.

As the branch cannot give fruits of itself if it abide not in the vine, so also cannot you, if you abide not in me.

I am the vine, and you the branches.

Whoso abideth in me, and I in him, this produceth much fruits, because without me you cannot do any thing.

But if a man abide not in me, he is cast without, as a withered branch; and, gathering, they cast it into the fire to burn.

But if you abide in me, and my words abide in you, all whatever you will to ask shall be unto you.


* Paraklito. 

† A mansion. 

‡ The vine of truth.


XXXVII. 15:8

IN this is glorified my Father, that much fruit you give, and be my disciples.

As my Father hath loved me, so I have loved you:

continue in the love of me.

If my commandments you will keep, you shall abide in my love; as I have kept the commandments of my Father, and abide in his love.

These have I spoken with you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.

This is my commandment, That you love one another, as I have loved you.

Love which is greater than this is not, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

You are my friends, if you do all that I command you.

No more I call you servants, for the servant knoweth not what doeth his Lord; but my friends have I called you; wherefore all that I have heard from my Father, I have made known unto you.

You have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and placed you, that you also may go (and) yield much fruit; and your fruit shall remain, because all that you shall ask the Father in my name, he will give to you.

These I command you, That you love one another.

And if the world hate you, know that, before you, it hated me.

And if of the world you were, the world its own would have loved; but you are not of the world, for I have chosen you from the world; on which account the world hateth you.

Remember the word which I spake with you, That there is no servant who is greater than his lord.

If me they have persecuted, you also will they persecute; and if my word they had kept, yours also would they keep.

But these all will they do to you on account of my name, because they know not Him who sent me.

If I had not come and spoken with them, they had not had sin; but now have they no pretext for their sins.*

He who hateth me, my Father also hateth.

And if the works I had not done before their eyes which no other man hath done, they had not had sin; but now they have seen and hated both me and my Father; † that the word may be fulfilled which is written in their law, They hated me undeservedly.

But when the Paraclete cometh, He whom I will send unto you from my Father, the Spirit of Truth, He who from my Father cometh forth, He shall testify of me.

You also testify, because from the beginning are you with me.


* Or, no cause on the faces of their sins. 

† Also me, and also my Father.

Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

