Home » Torah » Besorot 7 ‘I am with you all the days, until the consummation of the world’

Besorot 7 ‘I am with you all the days, until the consummation of the world’

zmatt24.jpg

The Preaching Of Mathai The Apostle – Chapter 25 – 28

ܡܬܝ

LXV. 25:1

THEN shall be likened the kingdom of heaven unto ten virgins, who took their lamps, and went forth to meet the bridegroom and the bride.

But five of them were wise, and five foolish.

And those foolish (ones) took their lamps, but did not take with them the oil:

but those were wise who took oil in vessels with their lamps.

But while the bridegroom withheld, they all dozed and slept.

And in the dividing of the night there was the cry,

Behold, the bridegroom cometh; go forth to his meeting.

Then all the virgins arose, and prepared their lamps.

But those foolish ones said to the wise,

Give to us from your oil; for, behold, our lamps are gone out.

But the wise ones answered them, saying,

Lest it should not suffice for us and for you; but go to those who sell, and buy for you.

And while they were gone to buy, the bridegroom came, and those who were prepared entered with him into the house of festivity,5 and the gate was shut.

At last came also those other virgins, saying,

Our Lord, our Lord, open to us!

But he answered and said to them,

Assuredly I tell you, I know you not.

Be wakeful therefore, for you know not that day nor the hour.

LXVI. 25:14

FOR as a man who journeyed called his servants, and delivered to them his property:

To one he gave five talents, and to another two, and to another one, each man according to his faculty; and forthwith went away.

But he who had received five talents went and traded with them, and gained five others.

Likewise he who (had received) two by trading gained two others.

But he who had received one went, dug in the earth, and hid the money of his lord.

After a long time the lord of those servants came, and received from them the account.

Then he drew near who had received the five talents, and brought five others, and said,

My lord, five talents thou gavest me: behold,

five others I have gained by them.

His lord said to him,

It is well, good and faithful servant; over a little thou hast been faithful, over much I will establish thee:

enter into the joy of thy lord.

And he of the two talents approached, and said,

My lord, two talents thou gavest me:

behold, two others I have gained by them.

His lord saith to him,

It is well, servant good and faithful; over a little thou hast been faithful, over much will I establish thee:

enter into the joy of thy lord.

But he also drew near who had received the one talent, and said,

My lord, I knew thee, that thou wast a hard man, reaping where thou hadst not sowed, and gathering together from whence thou hadst not dispersed.

And I feared, and went and hid thy talent in the earth:

behold, thou hast thine own.

His lord answered,

Thou evil and slothful servant, thou didst know me that I reap where I have not sowed, and collect from whence I have not dispersed.

Did it not behove thee to cast my money upon the table, that when I came I might require mine own with its increase ?

Take therefore from him the talent, and give it unto him who hath ten talents.

For unto him who hath shall be given, and it shall be added to him; but he who hath not, that also which he hath shall be taken from him.

And the indolent servant cast forth into the darknesses without; there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.

LXVII. 25:31

WHEN the Son of man cometh in his glory, and all his holy angels with him, then shall he sit upon the throne of his glory.

And before him shall be gathered all nations:

and he shall separate them one from another, as the shepherd separateth the sheep from the goats.

And he shall cause the sheep to stand upon his right hand, and the goats on his left.

Then shall the King say to them on his right hand,

Come, blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom which was to be for you from the foundation of the world.

For I was hungry, and you gave me to eat; I thirsted, and you made me to drink; I was a stranger, and you received me; I was naked, and you covered me; I was sick, and you cared for me; and I was in prison, and you came to me.

Then shall say unto him those righteous,

Our Lord ! when did we see that thou wast hungry, and fed thee, or that thou didst thirst, and we gave thee drink ? and when did we see thee a stranger, and received thee, or naked, and covered thee ? and when did we see thee sick, or in prison, and came to thee ?

And the King shall answer and say to them,

Amen I say to you, Inasmuch as you did it unto one of these my least brethren, unto me you did it.

Then shall he say also unto them on his left hand,

Go from me, accursed, into the fire of eternity, which was prepared for the accuser and for his angels.

For I was hungry and you gave me not to eat; and I thirsted, but you made me not to drink; and I was a stranger, and you received me not; and naked, and you clothed me not; and I was sick, and in prison, and you visited me not.

Then shall they also answer and say,

Our Lord! when saw we thee hungry, or thirsty, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee?

Then shall he answer and say to them,

Amen I say unto you, that inasmuch as you did it not unto one of these little ones, you did it not to me.

And these shall go away into the torment which is eternal, and the just into the life which is eternal.

5 Beth-chelulo, domus chori, seu domus nuptiarum.

The Preaching Of Mathai The Apostle – Chapter 26

ܡܬܝ

LXVIII. 26:1

AND when Jeshu had finished all these discourses, he said to his disciples,

You know not that after two days is the Petzcha,6 and the Son of man is delivered up to be crucified.

Then assembled the chief priests, and the scribes, and the elders of the people, in the hall of the chief of the priests, who was called Kaiapha.

And they held counsel concerning Jeshu, how that by artifice they might apprehend and kill him.

And they said,

Let it not be on the festival, lest there be a tumult among the people.

And when Jeshu was at Bethania, in the house of Shemun the leper, there drew near to him a woman who carried a vase of aromatic balsam, great of price, and she poured it upon the head of Jeshu as he reclined.

But his disciples saw and were displeased, and said,

For what is this destruction ?

For this could have been sold for much, and given to the poor.

But Jeshu knew, and said to them,

Why grieve you the woman ? a good work hath she wrought upon me.

For in all time the poor you have with you, but me you have not in all time with you.

For this (woman) who hath poured this balsam upon my body, as unto my funeral hath done [it].

And Amen I say unto you, Wheresoever this my gospel shall be proclaimed, in all the world, this also which she hath done shall be told for her memorial.

Then went one from the twelve, named Jihuda S’carjuta, unto the chief priests, and said to then,

What are you willing to give me, and I will deliver him to you ?

But they settled to him thirty of silver.

And from that time 7 he sought to him opportunity to betray him.

LXIX. 26:17

BUT in the first day of the (Phatiree) unleavened-bread days, the disciples came to Jeshu, and said to him,

Where wilt thou that we prepare for thee to eat the passover ?

But he said to them,

Go into the city to a certain man, and say to him, Our master saith, My time hath come! with thee will I perform the passover with my disciples.

And the disciples did as Jeshu had commanded, and prepared the passover.

And when it was evening, he reclined with his twelve disciples.

And while they were eating, he said,

Amen I say unto you, that one from you betrayeth me.

And they were very sad, and began to say to him, one by one of them,

My Lord, is it I ?

But he answered and said,

One who dippeth his hand with me in the dish, he shall betray me.

And the Son of man goeth as it is written concerning him; but woe to him, to that man by whom 8 the Son of man is betrayed!

Better had it been for that man if he had not been born.

Then Jihuda the traitor answered and said,

Am not I (he), Rabi ?

Jeshu replieth to him,

Thou hast said!

But while they were eating, Jeshu took the bread, and blessed, and brake, and gave to his disciples, and said,

Take, eat, this (is) my body.

And he took the cup, and offered thanks, and gave to them, and said,

Take, drink of this all of you:

this (is) my blood of the new covenant, which for multitudes is shed for the remission of sins.

But I say to you, that I will not drink from henceforth of this product of the vines, until the day in which I shall drink it with you new in the kingdom of Aloha.

And they sang praises, and went forth unto the mount of Olives.

LXX. 26:31

THEN said Jeshu unto them,

You all shall be offended in me this night; for it is written, I will strike the shepherd, and scattered shall be the sheep of his flock.

But after that I am risen I am before you in Galila.

Kipha answered and said to him,

Though every man should be offended in thee, I never will be offended in thee.

Jeshu saith to him,

Amen I say to thee, that in this night, before the cock shall crow, three times thou wilt deny me.

Kipha saith to him,

If I am to die with thee, I will not deny thee.

The same also all the disciples said.

Then cometh Jeshu with them unto the place which is called Gedsiman; and he said to his disciples,

Sit here while I go and pray.

And he took Kipha and the two sons of Zabdai; and he began to be sorrowful, and to be vehemently agonized.

And he said to them,

My soul is afflicted unto death; wait for me here, and watch with me.

And he removed a little, and fell upon his face, praying, and saying,

My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; yet not as I will, but as thou.

Then he came to his disciples, and found them sleeping; and he said to Kipha,

How, could you not for one hour watch with me ?

Be watchful and pray, that you enter not into temptation.

The spirit is ready, but the body is infirm.

Again he went the second time, and prayed, and said,

My Father, if it be not possible for this cup to pass, unless I drink it, be done thy will !

And he came again, and found them asleep; for their eyes had become heavy.

And he left them, and went again, and prayed the third time, and said the same word.

Then he came to the disciples, and said to them,

Sleep on now, and be at rest; lo, the hour cometh, and the Son of man is betrayed into the hands of sinners.

Arise, let us go:

behold, he cometh who betrayeth me.

And while he was speaking, behold, Jihuda the traitor, one from the twelve, came, and a great multitude with him, with swords and clubs, from the chief priests and elders of the people.

And Jihuda the traitor had given to them a sign, and said,

Whomsoever I shall kiss, that is he:

take him.

And immediately he approached Jeshu, and said,

Peace, my master !

and kissed him.

But he, Jeshu, said to him,

(Is it) for that thou hast come, my companion ?

Then they came on, and laid their hands upon Jeshu, and took him.

And, behold, one from those who were with Jeshu stretched forth his hand, and unsheathed a sword, and struck a servant of the high priest, and took off his ear.

Then said Jeshu to him,

Return thy sword to his place; for every one of them who take swords, by swords shall die.

Or thinkest thou that I cannot request from my Father, and he shall appoint to me now more than twelve legions of angels ?

(But) how, then, would the scripture be accomplished, that thus it ought to be ?

In that hour Jeshu said to the multitudes,

As against a robber are you come out, with swords, and with clubs, to seize me ?

Every day with you in the temple I sat and taught, and you did not apprehend me.

But this was done that what is written in the prophets might be fulfilled.

Then the disciples all deserted him, and fled.

And they who apprehended Jeshu led him unto Kaiapha, chief of the priests, where the jurists and elders were assembled.

But Shemun Kipha went after him from afar unto the court of the chief of the priests, and entered and sat within with the attendants, that he might see the end.

But the chief priests, and the elders, and the whole assembly, sought against Jeshu witnesses, that they might put him to death; but they found not (any).

And many witnesses of falsehood came.

But, last, two came near, declaring,

This said, I can destroy the temple of Aloha, and in three days rebuild it.

And the chief of the priests arose, and said to him,

Dost thou return no word ?

What are these witnessing against thee?

But Jeshu was silent.

And the chief of the priests answered and said to him,

I swear thee, by Aloha the Living, that thou declare to us whether thou be the Meshicha, the Son of Aloha ?

Jeshu saith to him,

Thou hast said:

but I say to you, That hereafter ye shall see him, the Son of man, sitting at the right hand of Power, and coming on the clouds of heaven.

Then the chief of the priests tore his robes, and said,

Behold, he hath blasphemed ! what further need have we of witnesses ?

Behold, now we have heard his blasphemy.

What will you ?

They answered saying,

He deserves death.

Then did they spit in his face, and smote him; and others struck him, saying,

Prophesy to us, Meshicha !

Who is he that smiteth thee?

But Kipha was sitting without, in the hall, and a certain female domestic approached him, saying to him,

Thou also wast with Jeshu Natsroia.

But he denied before all, and said,

I know not what thou sayest.

And when he had gone out into the vestibule, another saw him, and said to them,

This also was there with Jeshu Natsroia.

And again he denied with oaths,

I know not the man.

But, after a little while, they who were standing drew near, and said to Kipha,

Assuredly thou art of them; for thy speech also makes thee known.

Then began he to imprecate and to swear,

I know not the man !

And in that hour the cock crowed.

And Kipha remembered the word of Jeshu, who had said to him,

That before the cock shall crow, three times wilt thou have denied me.

And he went without, and wept bitterly.

6 Passover.

7 From them.

8 By whose hand.

The Preaching Of Mathai The Apostle – Chapter 27

ܡܬܝ

LXXI. 27:1

BUT when it was morning, the chief priests and elders of the people took counsel against Jeshu, how they should put him to death.

And they bound him, and led him away, and delivered him to Pilatos the governor.

Then Jihuda the traitor, when he saw that Jeshu was condemned, repented him, and went hastily, and returned those thirty of silver unto the chief priests and elders, and said,

I have sinned, for I have betrayed the innocent blood.

But they said to him,

To us ? what to us ?

Thou knowest,

-thou !

And he cast down the silver in the temple, and passed away, and went and strangled himself.

But the chief priests took up the silver, and said,

It is not lawful that we throw it into the place of offering, because it is the price of blood.

And they took counsel, and bought with it the field of the potter, for the burial-place of strangers.

Wherefore that field has been called, The field of blood, until this day.

Then was fulfilled what had been spoken by the prophet, who said,

And I took the thirty (pieces) of silver, the price of him who was precious, whom the sons of Isroel bargained for; and gave them for the field of the potter, as the Lord commanded me.

But Jeshu himself stood before the governor.

And the governor questioned him, and said to him,

Thou art the king of the Jihudoyee ?

Jeshu said to him,

Thou hast said.

And while the chief priests and elders were accusing him, he returned not a word.

Then said Pilatos unto him, Hearest thou not what they witness against thee?

But he gave him no answer, no, not in one word; and upon this (Pilate) marvelled greatly.

Now at every festival the governor was accustomed to release one of the bound unto the people, whomsoever they would.

But there was (then) bound a notorious prisoner who was called Bar-aba.

And when they were assembled, Pilatos said to them,

Whom will you that I release unto you, Bar-aba, or Jeshu who is called the Meshicha ?

For Pilatos knew that from malice they had delivered him.

But while the governor sat upon his tribunal, his wife sent to him saying,

Let there be nothing between thee and that Just One; for much have I suffered in a dream to-day on his account.

But the chief priests and elders persuaded the multitude that he should release to them Bar-aba, that they might destroy Jeshu.

And the governor answered and said to them,

Whom will you that I shall release to you of these two?

Then they said,

Bar-aba.

Pilatos saith to them,

And to Jeshu who is called the Meshicha, what shall I do with him ?

They all said,

Let him be crucified.

Pilatos saith to them,

Why, what evil hath he done ?

But they clamoured the more, and said,

Let him be crucified !

Then Pilatos, when he saw that nothing availed, but that the tumult became greater, took waters (and) washed his hands before 9 the assembly, and said,

I am expiated from the blood of this Just One.

You shall know.

And all the people answered and said,

His blood upon us, and upon our children !

LXXII. 27:26

THEN he released to them Bar-aba; and scourged Jeshu with thongs, and delivered him to be crucified.

Then the soldiers of the governor took Jeshu to the Praetorium, and the whole cohort gathered against him.

And they stripped him, and invested him with a cloak of crimson.

And they interwove a crown of thorns, and set it upon his head, and a cane in his right hand:

and they kneeled upon their knees before him, and mocked him, saying, Hail, king of the Jihudoyee !

And they did spit in his face, and took the cane, and struck him upon his head.

And when they had derided him, they stripped him of the cloak, and clothed him with his own garments, and led him away to be crucified.

And when they had gone forth, they found a Kurinean man whose name was Shemun:

this (man) they compel to carry his cross.

And they came to a place which is called Gogultho, which is expounded, The skull.

And they gave him to drink vinegar mingled with gall:

and he tasted, but was not willing to drink.

And when they had crucified him, they divided his garments by lot:

that what was spoken by the prophet might be fulfilled,

They parted my garments among them, and upon my vesture did they cast lots.

And they sat down and watched him there.

And they placed over his head the occasion of his death, in the writing,

This (is) Jeshu, the King of the Jihudoyee.

LXXIII. 27:38

AND they crucified with him two thieves, one on his right hand, and one on his left.

But they who passed by railed against him, moving their heads, and saying,

Destroyer of the temple, and builder of it in three days ! deliver thyself, if thou art the Son of Aloha, and come down from the cross.

Likewise also the chief priests mocking him, with the scribes and elders and Pharishee, saying,

He saved others; himself he cannot save.

If he be the King of Isroel, let him now descend from the cross, that we may see and believe in him.

He trusted upon Aloha; let him liberate him now, if he delighteth in1 him; for he said, I am the Son of Aloha.

Likewise also the robbers who were crucified with him reviled him.

9 In the eye of the assembly.

1 Willeth him.

LXXIV. 27:45

BUT from the sixth hour * there was darkness upon all the land until the ninth hour.

And about the ninth hour Jeshu cried with a high voice, Aloha ! Aloha ! why hast thou forsaken me ?

But certain of them who stood there, when they heard, said,

This hath cried unto Ilio.

And forthwith ran one from them, and took a sponge, and filled it with vinegar, and set it upon a cane, and gave him to drink.

But the rest said,

Let alone, we will see whether Ilio (will) come to deliver him.

But he, Jeshu, again cried with a high voice, and dismissed his spirit.

And at once the veil of the temple was rent in twain from above to beneath; and the earth was shaken, and the rocks were riven.

And the house of the buried was opened; and the bodies of many of the saints who had been asleep arose, and came forth, and after his resurrection went into the holy city, and were seen by many.

But the centurion and those with him, who guarded Jeshu, when they saw the commotion and those (portents) which took place, feared greatly, and said,

Assuredly this was the Son of Aloha.

(And) many women were there, beholding from afar; those who had come after Jeshu from Galila, and had ministered unto him.

One of them was Mariam Magdolitha, and Mariam the mother of Jakub and of Josi, and the mother of the sons of Zabdai.

* Six hours, &c.

† IL ! IL ! lamono shabakthóni !

‡ The faces of the gate.

LXXV. 27:57

BUT when it was evening, there came a rich man from Rometha, whose name was Jauseph, who himself also was a disciple of Jeshu.

This went unto Pilatos, and begged the body of Jeshu.

And Pilatos commanded that the body should be given to him.

And Jauseph took the body, and wound it round in a cloth of pure linen, and laid it in a new house of burial of his own, which was hewn out in the rock.

And they rolled a great stone, and heaved it against the door of the sepulchre, and went.

Now there were there Mariam Magdolitha and the other Mariam, who were sitting over against the sepulchre.

LXXVI. 27:62

BUT the day which was next after the preparation, the chief priests and Pharishee came together unto Pilatos, saying to him,

Our lord, we remember that that impostor said while alive,

That after three days I will arise. Command therefore that they watch the sepulchre till (after) the third of the days; lest his disciples come, and steal him away by night, and tell the people that from the house of the dead he has risen, and the last delusion be worse than the first.

Pilatos saith to them,

Ye have guards; go, watch diligently, as ye know how.

So they went, and set a watch (about) the sepulchre, and sealed the stone along with the guards.

The Preaching Of Mathai The Apostle – Chapter 28

ܡܬܝ

LXXVII. 28:1

FROM the evening (end) of the sabbath, when the first (day) in the week was lightening, Mariam Magdolitha and the other Mariam came to see the sepulchre.

And, behold, there was a great earthquake; for the angel of the Lord descended from heaven and drew near, rolled the stone from the door, and sat upon it.

His aspect was like lightning, and his raiment was white as the snow.

And with fear of him they who were watching were shaken, and became as the dead.

But the angel answered and said to the women,

Fear not ye; for I know that for Jeshu who was crucified you are seeking.

He is not here:

for he is risen, even as he said.

Come, see the place in which our Lord was laid:

and go with speed, and tell his disciples that he is risen from the house of the dead; and, behold, he goeth before you into Galila.

There shall you see him.

Lo, I have told you.

And they went quickly from the sepulchre, with fear and with great joy, and ran that they might tell his disciples.

And, behold, Jeshu met them, and said to them,

Peace to you !

And they approached [him], held him by the feet, and adored him.

Then said Jeshu to them,

Fear not; but go tell my brethren, that I will go into Galila, and there they shall see me.

But while they went, there came certain from those guards into the city, and told the chief priests every thing that had been done.

And they assembled with the elders, and took counsel; and they gave money not a little to the guards, telling them,

Say you that his disciples came (and) stole him away in the night, while we slept.

And if this be heard before the governor, we will persuade him, and make you without care.

But they, when they had received the money, did as they had instructed them; and that saying went forth among the Jihudoyee until to-day.

But the eleven disciples went into Galila, unto the mountain where Jeshu had appointed them.

And when they saw him, they worshipped him; but from them some had doubted.

And Jeshu drew near, and discoursed with them, and said to them,

There is given unto me all power in heaven and in earth.

As the Father sent me, so also I send you.

Go therefore, disciple all nations, and baptize them in the name (of) the Father, and (of) the Son, and (of) the Spirit of Holiness.

And teach them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you.

And, behold, I am with you all the days, until the consummation of the world.

Amen.

Finished is the Holy Gospel of the Preaching of Mathai; which he preached in Hebrew in the land of Palestine.

Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

