Home » Torah » Bible4 “We assembled to break the eucharist”

Bible4 “We assembled to break the eucharist”

The Book of Acts – Chapter 20

1 And after the tumult had subsided, Paul called the disciples to him, and comforted them, and kissed them, and departed, and went into Macedonia.
2 And when he had travelled over those regions, and had comforted them with many discourses, he proceeded to the country of Greece.
3 And he was there three months.
And the Jews formed a plot against him, when he was about to go to Syria:
and he contemplated returning to Macedonia.
4 And there departed with him, as far as Asia, Sopater of the city Berea, and Aristarchus and Secundus who were of Thessalonica, and Gaius who was of the city of Derbe, and Timothy of Lystra, and of Asia Tychicus and Trophimus.
5 these proceeded on before us, and waited for us at Troas.
6 And we departed from Philippi, a city of the Macedonians, after the days of unleavened bread; and proceeded by water and arrived at Troas in five days, and remained there seven days.
7 And on the First day of the Weeks**, when we assembled to break the eucharist***, Paul discoursed with them, because he was to depart the next day; and he continued his discourse till midnight.
8 And there were many lamps burning in the chamber where we were assembled.
9 And a young man named Eutychus was sitting in a window and listening.
And while Paul prolonged his discourse, he sunk into a deep sleep; and, in his sleep, he fell from the third loft, and was taken up as dead.
10 And Paul went down, and bent over him and embraced him, and said:
Be not agitated, for his soul is in him.
11 And when he had gone up, he broke the bread and tasted [it], and discoursed until the morning dawned.
And then he departed to go by land.
12 And they brought the young man alive, and rejoiced over him greatly.
13 And we went on board the ship, and sailed to the port of Thesos; because, there we were to take in Paul:
for so had he bidden us, when he proceeded on by land.
14 And when we had received him at Thesos, we took him on board ship and proceeded to Mitylene.
15 And from there, the next day, we sailed over against the island Chios; and again, the next day we arrived at Samos, and stopped at Trogyllium; and on the following day we arrived at Miletus.
16 For Paul had determined with himself to pass by Ephesus, lest he should be delayed there; because he hasted on, if possible, to keep the day of pentecost in Jerusalem.
And from Miletus, he sent and called the Elders of the church at Ephesus.
18 And when they had come to him, he said to them:
Ye yourselves know, how, at all times, since the first day that I entered Asia, I have been with you;
19 laboring for God, in great humility, and with tears, amid the trials which beset me from the plottings of Jews:
20 and I shunned not that which was advantageous to your souls, that I might preach to you, and teach in the streets and in houses,
21 while I testified to Jews and to Gentiles, as to repentance towards God and faith in our Lord Jesus Messiah.
22 And now I am bound in spirit, and I go to Jerusalem; and I know not what will befall me there;
23 except that the Holy Spirit in every city, testifieth to me and saith:
Bonds and afflictions await thee.
24 But my life is accounted by me as nothing, so that I may but finish my course, and the ministration which I have received from our Lord Jesus, to bear testimony to the gospel of the grace of God.
25 And now, I know that ye will see my face no more, all of you among whom I have travelled and preached the kingdom of God.
26 I therefore protest to you, this day, that I am pure from the blood of you all.
27 For I have not shunned to acquaint you with all the will of God.
28 Take heed therefore to yourselves, and to all the flock over which the Holy Spirit hath established you bishops; * that ye feed the community of God, which he hath acquired by his blood.
29 For I know, that after I am gone, fierce wolves will come in among you, and will have no mercy on the flock.
30 And also, from among yourselves, there will rise up men speaking perverse things, that they may turn away the disciples to go after them.
31 Therefore be ye vigilant; and remember, that for three years I ceased not to admonish each one of you, by day and by night, with tears.
32 And now I commend you to God, and to the word of his grace, which is able to build you up, and to give you an inheritance among all the saints.
33 Silver, or gold, or garments, I have not coveted.
34 And ye yourselves, know, that these hands ministered to my wants, and to them that were with me.
35 And I have showed you all things; that thus it is a duty to labor, and to care for the infirm, and to remember the words of our Lord Jesus; for he hath said,
That he is more blessed who giveth, than he who receiveth.
36 And when he had said these things, he fell on his knees and prayed, and all the people with him.
37 And there was great weeping among them all.
And they embraced him, and kissed him.
38 And they had the most anguish, because of the word he uttered, that they would see his face no more.
And they accompanied him to the ship.

* This is the only place in this version of the New Testament in which the word Bishop occurs.

comments
** v.7 – i.e. ‘First of the Feast of Weeks’ always falls on the Sabbath after Passover, the day Christ was resurrected – commonly mistranslated as ‘first of the week, Sunday’ as used by the Catholic Christian church which mandated Easter to Sunday.
*** Aramaic word for ‘a festive meal’ – a sabbath meal, in this case the Firstfruit meal offering beginning the Spring barley harvest.
Christ the ‘firstfruit’ of the resurrection begins 50 days omer offerings; He remains with the disciples 50 days before ascending.

2 Esdras 2 KJVA

1 Thus saith the Lord, I brought this people out of bondage, and I gave them my commandments by menservants the prophets; whom they would not hear, but despised my counsels. 2 The mother that bare them saith unto them, Go your way, ye children; for I am a widow and forsaken. 3 I brought you up with gladness; but with sorrow and heaviness have I lost you: for ye have sinned before the Lord your God, and done that thing that is evil before him. 4 But what shall I now do unto you? I am a widow and forsaken: go your way, O my children, and ask mercy of the Lord. 5 As for me, O father, I call upon thee for a witness over the mother of these children, which would not keep my covenant, 6 That thou bring them to confusion, and their mother to a spoil, that there may be no offspring of them. 7 Let them be scattered abroad among the heathen, let their names be put out of the earth: for they have despised my covenant. 8 Woe be unto thee, Assur, thou that hidest the unrighteous in thee! O thou wicked people, remember what I did unto Sodom and Gomorrha; 9 Whose land lieth in clods of pitch and heaps of ashes: even so also will I do unto them that hear me not, saith the Almighty Lord. 10 Thus saith the Lord unto Esdras, Tell my people that I will give them the kingdom of Jerusalem, which I would have given unto Israel. 11 Their glory also will I take unto me, and give these the everlasting tabernacles, which I had prepared for them. 12 They shall have the tree of life for an ointment of sweet savour; they shall neither labour, nor be weary. 13 Go, and ye shall receive: pray for few days unto you, that they may be shortened: the kingdom is already prepared for you: watch. 14 Take heaven and earth to witness; for I have broken the evil in pieces, and created the good: for I live, saith the Lord. 15 Mother, embrace thy children, and bring them up with gladness, make their feet as fast as a pillar: for I have chosen thee, saith the Lord. 16 And those that be dead will I raise up again from their places, and bring them out of the graves: for I have known my name in Israel. 17 Fear not, thou mother of the children: for I have chosen thee, saith the Lord. 18 For thy help will I send my servants Esau and Jeremy, after whose counsel I have sanctified and prepared for thee twelve trees laden with divers fruits, 19 And as many fountains flowing with milk and honey, and seven mighty mountains, whereupon there grow roses and lilies, whereby I will fill thy children with joy. 20 Do right to the widow, judge for the fatherless, give to the poor, defend the orphan, clothe the naked, 21 Heal the broken and the weak, laugh not a lame man to scorn, defend the maimed, and let the blind man come into the sight of my clearness. 22 Keep the old and young within thy walls. 23 Wheresoever thou findest the dead, take them and bury them, and I will give thee the first place in my resurrection. 24 Abide still, O my people, and take thy rest, for thy quietness still come. 25 Nourish thy children, O thou good nurse; stablish their feet. 26 As for the servants whom I have given thee, there shall not one of them perish; for I will require them from among thy number. 27 Be not weary: for when the day of trouble and heaviness cometh, others shall weep and be sorrowful, but thou shalt be merry and have abundance. 28 The heathen shall envy thee, but they shall be able to do nothing against thee, saith the Lord. 29 My hands shall cover thee, so that thy children shall not see hell. 30 Be joyful, O thou mother, with thy children; for I will deliver thee, saith the Lord. 31 Remember thy children that sleep, for I shall bring them out of the sides of the earth, and shew mercy unto them: for I am merciful, saith the Lord Almighty. 32 Embrace thy children until I come and shew mercy unto them: for my wells run over, and my grace shall not fail. 33 I Esdras received a charge of the Lord upon the mount Oreb, that I should go unto Israel; but when I came unto them, they set me at nought, and despised the commandment of the Lord. 34 And therefore I say unto you, O ye heathen, that hear and understand, look for your Shepherd, he shall give you everlasting rest; for he is nigh at hand, that shall come in the end of the world. 35 Be ready to the reward of the kingdom, for the everlasting light shall shine upon you for evermore. 36 Flee the shadow of this world, receive the joyfulness of your glory: I testify my Saviour openly. 37 O receive the gift that is given you, and be glad, giving thanks unto him that hath led you to the heavenly kingdom. 38 Arise up and stand, behold the number of those that be sealed in the feast of the Lord; 39 Which are departed from the shadow of the world, and have received glorious garments of the Lord. 40 Take thy number, O Sion, and shut up those of thine that are clothed in white, which have fulfilled the law of the Lord. 41 The number of thy children, whom thou longedst for, is fulfilled: beseech the power of the Lord, that thy people, which have been called from the beginning, may be hallowed. 42 I Esdras saw upon the mount Sion a great people, whom I could not number, and they all praised the Lord with songs. 43 And in the midst of them there was a young man of a high stature, taller than all the rest, and upon every one of their heads he set crowns, and was more exalted; which I marvelled at greatly. 44 So I asked the angel, and said, Sir, what are these? 45 He answered and said unto me, These be they that have put off the mortal clothing, and put on the immortal, and have confessed the name of God: now are they crowned, and receive palms. 46 Then said I unto the angel, What young person is it that crowneth them, and giveth them palms in their hands? 47 So he answered and said unto me, It is the Son of God, whom they have confessed in the world. Then began I greatly to commend them that stood so stiffly for the name of the Lord. 48 Then the angel said unto me, Go thy way, and tell my people what manner of things, and how great wonders of the Lord thy God, thou hast seen.

2 Esdras 2 KJVA

Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

