Home » Torah » “My soul waiteth for my Lord, more than watchmen for the morning” Psalms for Praise #26

“My soul waiteth for my Lord, more than watchmen for the morning” Psalms for Praise #26

Psalms 126-130

Jehovah hath done great things with us; 126.3
Except jehovah build the house, they labour in vain 127.1
Happy is every one that honors jehovah, that walketh in His ways. 128.1
They have not prevailed against me. 129.2
I wait for jehovah, my soul doth wait, 130.5

Chapter 126 *Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

א שִׁיר, הַמַּעֲלוֹת:

בְּשׁוּב יְהוָה, אֶת-שִׁיבַת צִיּוֹן– הָיִינוּ, כְּחֹלְמִים. 1

A Song of Ascents. {N}

When jehovah brought back those that returned to Zion, we were like unto them that dream.

*Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

ב אָז יִמָּלֵא שְׂחוֹק, פִּינוּ– וּלְשׁוֹנֵנוּ רִנָּה:

אָז, יֹאמְרוּ בַגּוֹיִם– הִגְדִּיל יְהוָה, לַעֲשׂוֹת עִם-אֵלֶּה. 2

Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing; {N}

then said they among the masses:

‘Jehovah hath done great things with these.’

*Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

ג הִגְדִּיל יְהוָה, לַעֲשׂוֹת עִמָּנוּ– הָיִינוּ שְׂמֵחִים. 3

Jehovah hath done great things with us; we are rejoiced.

*Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

ד שׁוּבָה יְהוָה, אֶת-שבותנו (שְׁבִיתֵנוּ)– כַּאֲפִיקִים בַּנֶּגֶב. 4

Turn our captivity, jehovah, as the streams in the dry land.

*Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

ה הַזֹּרְעִים בְּדִמְעָה– בְּרִנָּה יִקְצֹרוּ. 5

They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.

*Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

ו הָלוֹךְ יֵלֵךְ, וּבָכֹה– נֹשֵׂא מֶשֶׁךְ-הַזָּרַע:

בֹּא-יָבֹא בְרִנָּה– נֹשֵׂא, אֲלֻמֹּתָיו. 6

Though he goeth on his way weeping that beareth the measure of seed, {N}

he shall come home with joy, bearing his sheaves. {P}

*Jehovah Hath Done Great Things With Us*

Chapter 127 *Except Jehovah Build the House They Labour in Vain*

א שִׁיר הַמַּעֲלוֹת, לִשְׁלֹמֹה:

אִם-יְהוָה, לֹא-יִבְנֶה בַיִת– שָׁוְא עָמְלוּ בוֹנָיו בּוֹ;

אִם-יְהוָה לֹא-יִשְׁמָר-עִיר, שָׁוְא שָׁקַד שׁוֹמֵר. 1

A Song of Ascents; of Solomon. {N}

Except jehovah build the house, they labour in vain that build it; {N}

except jehovah keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

*Except Jehovah Build the House They Labour in Vain*

ב שָׁוְא לָכֶם מַשְׁכִּימֵי קוּם, מְאַחֲרֵי-שֶׁבֶת–

אֹכְלֵי, לֶחֶם הָעֲצָבִים;

כֵּן יִתֵּן לִידִידוֹ שֵׁנָא. 2

It is vain for you that ye rise early, and sit up late, {N}

ye that eat the bread of toil; {N}

so He giveth unto His beloved in sleep.

*Except Jehovah Build the House They Labour in Vain*

ג הִנֵּה נַחֲלַת יְהוָה בָּנִים: שָׂכָר, פְּרִי הַבָּטֶן. 3

Lo, children are a heritage of jehovah; the fruit of the womb is a reward.

*Except Jehovah Build the House They Labour in Vain*

ד כְּחִצִּים בְּיַד-גִּבּוֹר– כֵּן, בְּנֵי הַנְּעוּרִים. 4

As arrows in the hand of a mighty man, so are the children of one’s youth.

*Except Jehovah Build the House They Labour in Vain*

ה אַשְׁרֵי הַגֶּבֶר– אֲשֶׁר מִלֵּא אֶת-אַשְׁפָּתוֹ, מֵהֶם:

לֹא-יֵבֹשׁוּ– כִּי-יְדַבְּרוּ אֶת-אוֹיְבִים בַּשָּׁעַר. 5

Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them; {N}

they shall not be put to shame, when they speak with their enemies in the gate. {P}

*Except Jehovah Build the House They Labour in Vain*

Chapter 128 *Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

א שִׁיר, הַמַּעֲלוֹת:

אַשְׁרֵי, כָּל-יְרֵא יְהוָה– הַהֹלֵךְ, בִּדְרָכָיו. 1

A Song of Ascents. {N}

Happy is every one that honors jehovah, that walketh in His ways.

*Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

ב יְגִיעַ כַּפֶּיךָ, כִּי תֹאכֵל; אַשְׁרֶיךָ, וְטוֹב לָךְ. 2

When thou eatest the labour of thy hands, happy shalt thou be, and it shall be well with thee.

*Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

ג אֶשְׁתְּךָ, כְּגֶפֶן פֹּרִיָּה– בְּיַרְכְּתֵי בֵיתֶךָ:

בָּנֶיךָ, כִּשְׁתִלֵי זֵיתִים– סָבִיב, לְשֻׁלְחָנֶךָ. 3

Thy wife shall be as a fruitful vine, in the innermost parts of thy house; {N}

thy children like olive plants, round about thy table.

*Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

ד הִנֵּה כִי-כֵן, יְבֹרַךְ גָּבֶר– יְרֵא יְהוָה. 4

Behold, surely thus shall the man be blessed that feareth jehovah.

*Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

ה יְבָרֶכְךָ יְהוָה, מִצִּיּוֹן: וּרְאֵה, בְּטוּב יְרוּשָׁלִָם–כֹּל, יְמֵי חַיֶּיךָ. 5

Jehovah bless thee out of Zion; and see thou the good of Jerusalem all the days of thy life;

*Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

ו וּרְאֵה-בָנִים לְבָנֶיךָ: שָׁלוֹם, עַל-יִשְׂרָאֵל. 6

And see thy sons’s sons. Peace be upon Israel! {P}

*Happy Is Every One That Honors Jehovah*

Chapter 129 *They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

א שִׁיר, הַמַּעֲלוֹת:

רַבַּת, צְרָרוּנִי מִנְּעוּרַי– יֹאמַר-נָא, יִשְׂרָאֵל. 1

A Song of Ascents. {N}

‘Much have they afflicted me from my youth up’,

let Israel now say;

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ב רַבַּת, צְרָרוּנִי מִנְּעוּרָי; גַּם, לֹא-יָכְלוּ לִי. 2

‘Much have they afflicted me from my youth up; but they have not prevailed against me.

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ג עַל-גַּבִּי, חָרְשׁוּ חֹרְשִׁים; הֶאֱרִיכוּ, למענותם (לְמַעֲנִיתָם). 3

The plowers plowed upon my back; they made long their furrows.

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ד יְהוָה צַדִּיק; קִצֵּץ, עֲבוֹת רְשָׁעִים. 4

Jehovah is righteous; He hath cut asunder the cords of the wicked.’

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ה יֵבֹשׁוּ, וְיִסֹּגוּ אָחוֹר– כֹּל, שֹׂנְאֵי צִיּוֹן. 5

Let them be ashamed and turned backward, all they that hate Zion.

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ו יִהְיוּ, כַּחֲצִיר גַּגּוֹת– שֶׁקַּדְמַת שָׁלַף יָבֵשׁ. 6

Let them be as the grass upon the housetops, which withereth afore it springeth up;

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ז שֶׁלֹּא מִלֵּא כַפּוֹ קוֹצֵר; וְחִצְנוֹ מְעַמֵּר. 7

Wherewith the reaper filleth not his hand, nor he that bindeth sheaves his bosom.

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

ח וְלֹא אָמְרוּ, הָעֹבְרִים– בִּרְכַּת-יְהוָה אֲלֵיכֶם;

בֵּרַכְנוּ אֶתְכֶם, בְּשֵׁם יְהוָה. 8

Neither do they that go by say:

‘The blessing of jehovah be upon you; {N}

we bless you in the name of jehovah.’ {P}

*They Have Not Prevailed Against Me*

Chapter 130 *I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

א שִׁיר הַמַּעֲלוֹת:

מִמַּעֲמַקִּים קְרָאתִיךָ יְהוָה. 1

A Song of Ascents. {N}

Out of the depths have I called Thee, O jehovah.

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ב אֲדֹנָי, שִׁמְעָה בְקוֹלִי:

תִּהְיֶינָה אָזְנֶיךָ, קַשֻּׁבוֹת– לְקוֹל, תַּחֲנוּנָי. 2

My Lord, hearken unto my voice; {N}

let Thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications.

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ג אִם-עֲו‍ֹנוֹת תִּשְׁמָר-יָהּ– אֲדֹנָי, מִי יַעֲמֹד. 3

If Thou, jehovah, shouldest mark iniquities, my Lord, who could stand?

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ד כִּי-עִמְּךָ הַסְּלִיחָה– לְמַעַן, תִּוָּרֵא. 4

For with Thee there is forgiveness, that Thou mayest be awed.

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ה קִוִּיתִי יְהוָה, קִוְּתָה נַפְשִׁי; וְלִדְבָרוֹ הוֹחָלְתִּי. 5

I wait for jehovah, my soul doth wait, and for His word do I hope.

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ו נַפְשִׁי לַאדֹנָי– מִשֹּׁמְרִים לַבֹּקֶר, שֹׁמְרִים לַבֹּקֶר. 6

My soul waiteth for my Lord, more than watchmen for the morning; yea, more than watchmen for the morning.

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ז יַחֵל יִשְׂרָאֵל, אֶל-יְהוָה: כִּי-עִם-יְהוָה הַחֶסֶד; וְהַרְבֵּה עִמּוֹ פְדוּת. 7

O Israel, hope in jehovah; for with jehovah there is mercy, and with Him is plenteous redemption.

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

ח וְהוּא, יִפְדֶּה אֶת-יִשְׂרָאֵל– מִכֹּל, עֲו‍ֹנֹתָיו. 8

And He will redeem Israel from all his iniquities. {P}

*I Wait For Jehovah My Soul Doth Wait*

…,…

Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

