Bible4 “It is written: Be ye holy even as I am holy”

The Epistle of Peter, the Legate; Simon Cephas – Chapter 1
1 PETER, a legate of Jesus the Messiah, to the elect and sojourners, who are dispersed in Pontus and in Galatia, and in Cappadocia, and in Asia, and in Bithynia,
2 to them who have been chosen, by the foreknowledge of God the Father, through sanctification of the Spirit, unto the obedience and the sprinkling of the blood of Jesus the Messiah: May grace and peace abound towards you.
3 Blessed be God, the Father of our Lord Jesus the Messiah, who in his great mercy hath begotten us anew, by the resurrection of our Lord Jesus the Messiah, to the hope of life,
4 and to an inheritance incorruptible, undefiled, and unfading, which is prepared for you in heaven;
5 while ye are kept, by the power of God and by faith, for the life that is prepared and will be revealed in the last times;
6 wherein ye will rejoice for ever, notwithstanding ye at the present time are pressed a little, by the various trials that pass over you;
7 so that the proof of your faith may appear more precious than refined gold that is tested by fire, unto glory and honor and praise, at the manifestation of Jesus the Messiah:
8 whom having not seen, ye love; and in the faith of whom ye rejoice, with joy that is glorious and ineffable,
9 that ye may receive the recompense of your faith, the life of your souls;
10 that life [namely], about which the prophets inquired, when they were prophesying of the grace which was to be given to you.
11 And they searched for the time which the Spirit of the Messiah dwelling in them did show and testify, when the sufferings of the Messiah were to occur, and his subsequent glory.
12 And it was revealed to them, [in regard to] all they were searching, that, not for themselves were they inquiring, but for us they were prophesying of those things, which are now manifested to you by means of the things we have announced to you, by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven; which things the angels also desire to look into.
13 Wherefore, gird up the loins of your minds. and be awake perfectly, and wait for the joy, which will come to you at the revelation of our Lord Jesus the Messiah,
14 as obedient children: and be ye not conversant again with those former lusts, with which ye lusted when without knowledge.
15 But be ye holy in all your conduct, as he is holy who hath called you.
16 Because it is written:
Be ye holy, even as I am holy.
17 And if so be ye call on the Father, with whom is no respect of persons, and who judgeth every one according to his deeds, pass the time of your sojournment with fear;
18 since ye know, that neither with perishable silver, nor with gold, ye were redeemed from your vain doings, which ye had by tradition from your fathers;
19 but with the precious blood of that Lamb in which is no spot nor blemish, namely, the Messiah:
20 who was predestined to this, before the foundation of the world; and was manifested at the termination of the times, for your sakes;
21 who, by means of him, have believed in God, who raised him from the dead and conferred glory on him; that your faith and hope might be in God,
22 while your minds became sanctified, by obedience to the truth; and ye be full of love, without respect of persons, so that ye love one another out of a pure and perfect heart;
23 like persons born again, not of seed that perisheth, but of that which doth not perish, by the living word of God, who abideth for ever.
24 Because all flesh is as grass, and all its beauty like the flower of the field. The grass drieth up, and the flower withereth away;
25 but the word of our God abideth for ever:
and this is the word that is announced to you.

2 Esdras 16 KJVA
1 Woe be unto thee, Babylon, and Asia! woe be unto thee, Egypt and Syria! 2 Gird up yourselves with cloths of sack and hair, bewail your children, and be sorry; for your destruction is at hand. 3 A sword is sent upon you, and who may turn it back? 4 A fire is sent among you, and who may quench it? 5 Plagues are sent unto you, and what is he that may drive them away? 6 May any man drive away an hungry lion in the wood? or may any one quench the fire in stubble, when it hath begun to burn? 7 May one turn again the arrow that is shot of a strong archer? 8 The mighty Lord sendeth the plagues and who is he that can drive them away? 9 A fire shall go forth from his wrath, and who is he that may quench it? 10 He shall cast lightnings, and who shall not fear? he shall thunder, and who shall not be afraid? 11 The Lord shall threaten, and who shall not be utterly beaten to powder at his presence? 12 The earth quaketh, and the foundations thereof; the sea ariseth up with waves from the deep, and the waves of it are troubled, and the fishes thereof also, before the Lord, and before the glory of his power: 13 For strong is his right hand that bendeth the bow, his arrows that he shooteth are sharp, and shall not miss, when they begin to be shot into the ends of the world. 14 Behold, the plagues are sent, and shall not return again, until they come upon the earth. 15 The fire is kindled, and shall not be put out, till it consume the foundation of the earth. 16 Like as an arrow which is shot of a mighty archer returneth not backward: even so the plagues that shall be sent upon earth shall not return again. 17 Woe is me! woe is me! who will deliver me in those days? 18 The beginning of sorrows and great mournings; the beginning of famine and great death; the beginning of wars, and the powers shall stand in fear; the beginning of evils! what shall I do when these evils shall come? 19 Behold, famine and plague, tribulation and anguish, are sent as scourges for amendment. 20 But for all these things they shall not turn from their wickedness, nor be always mindful of the scourges. 21 Behold, victuals shall be so good cheap upon earth, that they shall think themselves to be in good case, and even then shall evils grow upon earth, sword, famine, and great confusion. 22 For many of them that dwell upon earth shall perish of famine; and the other, that escape the hunger, shall the sword destroy. 23 And the dead shall be cast out as dung, and there shall be no man to comfort them: for the earth shall be wasted, and the cities shall be cast down. 24 There shall be no man left to till the earth, and to sow it 25 The trees shall give fruit, and who shall gather them? 26 The grapes shall ripen, and who shall tread them? for all places shall be desolate of men: 27 So that one man shall desire to see another, and to hear his voice. 28 For of a city there shall be ten left, and two of the field, which shall hide themselves in the thick groves, and in the clefts of the rocks. 29 As in an orchard of Olives upon every tree there are left three or four olives; 30 Or as when a vineyard is gathered, there are left some clusters of them that diligently seek through the vineyard: 31 Even so in those days there shall be three or four left by them that search their houses with the sword. 32 And the earth shall be laid waste, and the fields thereof shall wax old, and her ways and all her paths shall grow full of thorns, because no man shall travel therethrough. 33 The virgins shall mourn, having no bridegrooms; the women shall mourn, having no husbands; their daughters shall mourn, having no helpers. 34 In the wars shall their bridegrooms be destroyed, and their husbands shall perish of famine. 35 Hear now these things and understand them, ye servants of the Lord. 36 Behold, the word of the Lord, receive it: believe not the gods of whom the Lord spake. 37 Behold, the plagues draw nigh, and are not slack. 38 As when a woman with child in the ninth month bringeth forth her son, with two or three hours of her birth great pains compass her womb, which pains, when the child cometh forth, they slack not a moment: 39 Even so shall not the plagues be slack to come upon the earth, and the world shall mourn, and sorrows shall come upon it on every side. 40 O my people, hear my word: make you ready to thy battle, and in those evils be even as pilgrims upon the earth. 41 He that selleth, let him be as he that fleeth away: and he that buyeth, as one that will lose: 42 He that occupieth merchandise, as he that hath no profit by it: and he that buildeth, as he that shall not dwell therein: 43 He that soweth, as if he should not reap: so also he that planteth the vineyard, as he that shall not gather the grapes: 44 They that marry, as they that shall get no children; and they that marry not, as the widowers. 45 And therefore they that labour, labour in vain: 46 For strangers shall reap their fruits, and spoil their goods, overthrow their houses, and take their children captives, for in captivity and famine shall they get children. 47 And they that occupy their merchandise with robbery, the more they deck their cities, their houses, their possessions, and their own persons: 48 The more will I be angry with them for their sin, saith the Lord. 49 Like as a whore envieth a right honest and virtuous woman: 50 So shall righteousness hate iniquity, when she decketh herself, and shall accuse her to her face, when he cometh that shall defend him that diligently searcheth out every sin upon earth. 51 And therefore be ye not like thereunto, nor to the works thereof. 52 For yet a little, and iniquity shall be taken away out of the earth, and righteousness shall reign among you. 53 Let not the sinner say that he hath not sinned: for God shall burn coals of fire upon his head, which saith before the Lord God and his glory, I have not sinned. 54 Behold, the Lord knoweth all the works of men, their imaginations, their thoughts, and their hearts: 55 Which spake but the word, Let the earth be made; and it was made: Let the heaven be made; and it was created. 56 In his word were the stars made, and he knoweth the number of them. 57 He searcheth the deep, and the treasures thereof; he hath measured the sea, and what it containeth. 58 He hath shut the sea in the midst of the waters, and with his word hath he hanged the earth upon the waters. 59 He spreadeth out the heavens like a vault; upon the waters hath he founded it. 60 In the desert hath he made springs of water, and pools upon the tops of the mountains, that the floods might pour down from the high rocks to water the earth. 61 He made man, and put his heart in the midst of the body, and gave him breath, life, and understanding. 62 Yea and the Spirit of Almighty God, which made all things, and searcheth out all hidden things in the secrets of the earth, 63 Surely he knoweth your inventions, and what ye think in your hearts, even them that sin, and would hide their sin. 64 Therefore hath the Lord exactly searched out all your works, and he will put you all to shame. 65 And when your sins are brought forth, ye shall be ashamed before men, and your own sins shall be your accusers in that day. 66 What will ye do? or how will ye hide your sins before God and his angels? 67 Behold, God himself is the judge, fear him: leave off from your sins, and forget your iniquities, to meddle no more with them for ever: so shall God lead you forth, and deliver you from all trouble. 68 For, behold, the burning wrath of a great multitude is kindled over you, and they shall take away certain of you, and feed you, being idle, with things offered unto idols. 69 And they that consent unto them shall be had in derision and in reproach, and trodden under foot. 70 For there shall be in every place, and in the next cities, a great insurrection upon those that fear the Lord. 71 They shall be like mad men, sparing none, but still spoiling and destroying those that fear the Lord. 72 For they shall waste and take away their goods, and cast them out of their houses. 73 Then shall they be known, who are my chosen; and they shall be tried as the gold in the fire. 74 Hear, O ye my beloved, saith the Lord: behold, the days of trouble are at hand, but I will deliver you from the same. 75 Be ye not afraid neither doubt; for God is your guide, 76 And the guide of them who keep my commandments and precepts, saith the Lord God: let not your sins weigh you down, and let not your iniquities lift up themselves. 77 Woe be unto them that are bound with their sins, and covered with their iniquities like as a field is covered over with bushes, and the path thereof covered with thorns, that no man may travel through! 78 It is left undressed, and is cast into the fire to be consumed therewith.
2 Esdras 16 KJVA

Psalms for Praise 7 “Into Thy hand I commit my spirit”

Psalms 31-35

Into Thy hand I commit my spirit; 31.6

Thou art my hiding-place; 32.7

Happy is the nation whose God is jehovah; 33.12

I will bless jehovah at all times; 34.2

Say unto my soul: ‘I am thy yeshua.’ 35.3

Chapter 31 *Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

א לַמְנַצֵּחַ, מִזְמוֹר לְדָוִד. 1

For the Leader. A Psalm of David.

ב בְּךָ-יְהוָה חָסִיתִי, אַל-אֵבוֹשָׁה לְעוֹלָם; בְּצִדְקָתְךָ פַלְּטֵנִי. 2

In thee, O jehovah, have I taken refuge; let me never be ashamed; deliver me in Thy righteousness.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ג הַטֵּה אֵלַי, אָזְנְךָ– מְהֵרָה הַצִּילֵנִי:

הֱיֵה לִי, לְצוּר-מָעוֹז–לְבֵית מְצוּדוֹת; לְהוֹשִׁיעֵנִי. 3

Incline Thine ear unto me, deliver me speedily; {N}

be Thou to me a rock of refuge, even a fortress of defence, to save me.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ד כִּי-סַלְעִי וּמְצוּדָתִי אָתָּה; וּלְמַעַן שִׁמְךָ, תַּנְחֵנִי וּתְנַהֲלֵנִי. 4

For Thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for Thy name’s sake lead me and guide me.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ה תּוֹצִיאֵנִי–מֵרֶשֶׁת זוּ, טָמְנוּ לִי: כִּי-אַתָּה, מָעוּזִּי. 5

Bring me forth out of the net that they have hidden for me; for Thou art my stronghold.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ו בְּיָדְךָ, אַפְקִיד רוּחִי: פָּדִיתָ אוֹתִי יְהוָה–אֵל אֱמֶת. 6

Into Thy hand I commit my spirit; Thou hast redeemed me, O jehovah, Thou God of truth.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ז שָׂנֵאתִי, הַשֹּׁמְרִים הַבְלֵי-שָׁוְא; וַאֲנִי, אֶל-יְהוָה בָּטָחְתִּי. 7

I hate them that regard lying vanities; but I trust in jehovah.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ח אָגִילָה וְאֶשְׂמְחָה, בְּחַסְדֶּךָ:

אֲשֶׁר רָאִיתָ, אֶת-עָנְיִי; יָדַעְתָּ, בְּצָרוֹת נַפְשִׁי. 8

I will be glad and rejoice in Thy lovingkindness; {N}

for Thou hast seen mine affliction, Thou hast taken cognizance of the troubles of my soul,

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

ט וְלֹא הִסְגַּרְתַּנִי, בְּיַד-אוֹיֵב; הֶעֱמַדְתָּ בַמֶּרְחָב רַגְלָי. 9

And Thou hast not given me over into the hand of the enemy; Thou hast set my feet in a broad place.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

י חָנֵּנִי יְהוָה, כִּי צַר-לִי:

עָשְׁשָׁה בְכַעַס עֵינִי; נַפְשִׁי וּבִטְנִי. 10

Be gracious unto me, O jehovah, for I am in distress; {N}

mine eye wasteth away with vexation, yea, my soul and my body.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יא כִּי כָלוּ בְיָגוֹן, חַיַּי– וּשְׁנוֹתַי בַּאֲנָחָה:

כָּשַׁל בַּעֲו‍ֹנִי כֹחִי; וַעֲצָמַי עָשֵׁשׁוּ. 11

For my life is spent in sorrow, and my years in sighing; {N}

my strength faileth because of mine iniquity, and my bones are wasted away.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יב מִכָּל-צֹרְרַי הָיִיתִי חֶרְפָּה, וְלִשְׁכֵנַי מְאֹד– וּפַחַד לִמְיֻדָּעָי:

רֹאַי בַּחוּץ– נָדְדוּ מִמֶּנִּי. 12

Because of all mine adversaries I am become a reproach, yea, unto my neighbours exceedingly, and a dread to mine acquaintance; {N}

they that see me without flee from me.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יג נִשְׁכַּחְתִּי, כְּמֵת מִלֵּב; הָיִיתִי, כִּכְלִי אֹבֵד. 13

I am forgotten as a dead man out of mind; I am like a useless vessel.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יד כִּי שָׁמַעְתִּי, דִּבַּת רַבִּים– מָגוֹר מִסָּבִיב:

בְּהִוָּסְדָם יַחַד עָלַי; לָקַחַת נַפְשִׁי זָמָמוּ. 14

For I have heard the whispering of many, terror on every side; {N}

while they took counsel together against me, they devised to take away my life.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

טו וַאֲנִי, עָלֶיךָ בָטַחְתִּי יְהוָה; אָמַרְתִּי, אֱלֹהַי אָתָּה. 15

But as for me, I have trusted in Thee, O jehovah; I have said:

‘Thou art my God.’

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

טז בְּיָדְךָ עִתֹּתָי; הַצִּילֵנִי מִיַּד-אוֹיְבַי, וּמֵרֹדְפָי. 16

My times are in Thy hand; deliver me from the hand of mine enemies, and from them that persecute me.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יז הָאִירָה פָנֶיךָ, עַל-עַבְדֶּךָ; הוֹשִׁיעֵנִי בְחַסְדֶּךָ. 17

Make Thy face to shine upon Thy servant; save me in Thy lovingkindness.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יח יְהוָה–אַל-אֵבוֹשָׁה, כִּי קְרָאתִיךָ; יֵבֹשׁוּ רְשָׁעִים, יִדְּמוּ לִשְׁאוֹל. 18

O jehovah, let me not be ashamed, for I have called upon Thee; let the wicked be ashamed, let them be put to silence in the nether-world.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

יט תֵּאָלַמְנָה, שִׂפְתֵי-שָׁקֶר: הַדֹּבְרוֹת עַל-צַדִּיק עָתָק–בְּגַאֲוָה וָבוּז. 19

Let the lying lips be dumb, which speak arrogantly against the righteous, with pride and contempt.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

כ מָה רַב-טוּבְךָ, אֲשֶׁר-צָפַנְתָּ לִּירֵאֶיךָ:

פָּעַלְתָּ, לַחֹסִים בָּךְ; נֶגֶד, בְּנֵי אָדָם. 20

Oh how abundant is Thy goodness, which Thou hast laid up for them that fear Thee; {N}

which Thou hast wrought for them that take their refuge in Thee, in the sight of the sons of men!

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

כא תַּסְתִּירֵם, בְּסֵתֶר פָּנֶיךָ– מֵרֻכְסֵי-אִישׁ:

תִּצְפְּנֵם בְּסֻכָּה; מֵרִיב לְשֹׁנוֹת. 21

Thou hidest them in the covert of Thy presence from the plottings of man; {N}

Thou concealest them in a pavilion from the strife of tongues.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

כב בָּרוּךְ יְהוָה: כִּי הִפְלִיא חַסְדּוֹ לִי, בְּעִיר מָצוֹר. 22

Blessed be jehovah; for He hath shown me His wondrous lovingkindness in an entrenched city.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

כג וַאֲנִי, אָמַרְתִּי בְחָפְזִי– נִגְרַזְתִּי, מִנֶּגֶד עֵינֶיךָ:

אָכֵן–שָׁמַעְתָּ, קוֹל תַּחֲנוּנַי; בְּשַׁוְּעִי אֵלֶיךָ. 23

As for me, I said in my haste:

‘I am cut off from before Thine eyes’; {N}

nevertheless Thou heardest the voice of my supplications when I cried unto Thee.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

כד אֶהֱבוּ אֶת-יְהוָה, כָּל-חֲסִידָיו:

אֱמוּנִים, נֹצֵר יְהוָה; וּמְשַׁלֵּם עַל-יֶתֶר, עֹשֵׂה גַאֲוָה. 24

O love jehovah, all ye His godly ones; {N}

jehovah preserveth the faithful, and plentifully repayeth him that acteth haughtily.

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

כה חִזְקוּ, וְיַאֲמֵץ לְבַבְכֶם– כָּל-הַמְיַחֲלִים, לַיהוָה. 25

Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all ye that wait for jehovah. {P}

*Into Thy Hand I Commit My Spirit*

Chapter 32 *Thou Art My Hiding Place*

א לְדָוִד, מַשְׂכִּיל: אַשְׁרֵי נְשׂוּי-פֶּשַׁע; כְּסוּי חֲטָאָה. 1

[A Psalm] of David. Maschil.

Happy is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is pardoned.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

ב אַשְׁרֵי אָדָם–לֹא יַחְשֹׁב יְהוָה לוֹ עָו‍ֹן; וְאֵין בְּרוּחוֹ רְמִיָּה. 2

Happy is the man unto whom jehovah counteth not iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no guile.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

ג כִּי-הֶחֱרַשְׁתִּי, בָּלוּ עֲצָמָי– בְּשַׁאֲגָתִי, כָּל-הַיּוֹם. 3

When I kept silence, my bones wore away through my groaning all the day long.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

ד כִּי, יוֹמָם וָלַיְלָה– תִּכְבַּד עָלַי, יָדֶךָ:

נֶהְפַּךְ לְשַׁדִּי– בְּחַרְבֹנֵי קַיִץ סֶלָה. 4

For day and night Thy hand was heavy upon me; {N}

my sap was turned as in the droughts of summer.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

[Selah]

ה חַטָּאתִי אוֹדִיעֲךָ, וַעֲו‍ֹנִי לֹא-כִסִּיתִי–

אָמַרְתִּי, אוֹדֶה עֲלֵי פְשָׁעַי לַיהוָה;

וְאַתָּה נָשָׂאתָ עֲו‍ֹן חַטָּאתִי סֶלָה. 5

I acknowledged my sin unto Thee, and mine iniquity have I not hid; {N}

I said:

‘I will make confession concerning my transgressions unto jehovah’– {N}

and Thou, Thou forgavest the iniquity of my sin.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

[Selah]

ו עַל-זֹאת, יִתְפַּלֵּל כָּל-חָסִיד אֵלֶיךָ– לְעֵת מְצֹא:

רַק, לְשֵׁטֶף מַיִם רַבִּים– אֵלָיו, לֹא יַגִּיעוּ. 6

For this let every one that is godly pray unto Thee in a time when Thou mayest be found; {N}

surely, when the great waters overflow, they will not reach unto him.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

ז אַתָּה, סֵתֶר לִי– מִצַּר תִּצְּרֵנִי:

רָנֵּי פַלֵּט; תְּסוֹבְבֵנִי סֶלָה. 7

Thou art my hiding-place; Thou wilt preserve me from the adversary; {N}

with songs of deliverance Thou wilt compass me about.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

[Selah]

ח אַשְׂכִּילְךָ, וְאוֹרְךָ–בְּדֶרֶךְ-זוּ תֵלֵךְ; אִיעֲצָה עָלֶיךָ עֵינִי. 8

‘I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go; I will give counsel, Mine eye being upon thee.’

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

ט אַל-תִּהְיוּ, כְּסוּס כְּפֶרֶד– אֵין הָבִין:

בְּמֶתֶג-וָרֶסֶן עֶדְיוֹ לִבְלוֹם; בַּל, קְרֹב אֵלֶיךָ. 9

Be ye not as the horse, or as the mule, which have no understanding; {N}

whose mouth must be held in with bit and bridle, that they come not near unto thee.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

י רַבִּים מַכְאוֹבִים, לָרָשָׁע: וְהַבּוֹטֵחַ בַּיהוָה–חֶסֶד, יְסוֹבְבֶנּוּ. 10

Many are the sorrows of the wicked; but he that trusteth in jehovah, mercy compasseth him about.

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

יא שִׂמְחוּ בַיהוָה וְגִילוּ, צַדִּיקִים; וְהַרְנִינוּ, כָּל-יִשְׁרֵי-לֵב. 11

Be glad in jehovah, and rejoice, ye righteous; and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart. {P}

*Thou Art My Hiding Place*

Chapter 33 *Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

א רַנְּנוּ צַדִּיקִים, בַּיהוָה; לַיְשָׁרִים, נָאוָה תְהִלָּה. 1

Rejoice in jehovah, O ye righteous, praise is comely for the upright.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ב הוֹדוּ לַיהוָה בְּכִנּוֹר; בְּנֵבֶל עָשׂוֹר, זַמְּרוּ-לוֹ. 2

Give thanks unto jehovah with harp, sing praises unto Him with the psaltery of ten strings.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ג שִׁירוּ-לוֹ, שִׁיר חָדָשׁ; הֵיטִיבוּ נַגֵּן, בִּתְרוּעָה. 3

Sing unto Him a new song; play skilfully amid shouts of joy.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ד כִּי-יָשָׁר דְּבַר-יְהוָה; וְכָל-מַעֲשֵׂהוּ, בֶּאֱמוּנָה. 4

For the word of jehovah is upright; and all His work is done in faithfulness.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ה אֹהֵב, צְדָקָה וּמִשְׁפָּט; חֶסֶד יְהוָה, מָלְאָה הָאָרֶץ. 5

He loveth righteousness and justice; the earth is full of the lovingkindness of jehovah.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ו בִּדְבַר יְהוָה, שָׁמַיִם נַעֲשׂוּ; וּבְרוּחַ פִּיו, כָּל-צְבָאָם. 6

By the word of jehovah were the heavens made; and all the host of them by the breath of His mouth.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ז כֹּנֵס כַּנֵּד, מֵי הַיָּם; נֹתֵן בְּאוֹצָרוֹת תְּהוֹמוֹת. 7

He gathereth the waters of the sea together as a heap; He layeth up the deeps in storehouses.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ח יִירְאוּ מֵיְהוָה, כָּל-הָאָרֶץ; מִמֶּנּוּ יָגוּרוּ, כָּל-יֹשְׁבֵי תֵבֵל. 8

Let all the earth fear jehovah; let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

ט כִּי הוּא אָמַר וַיֶּהִי; הוּא-צִוָּה, וַיַּעֲמֹד. 9

For He spoke, and it was; He commanded, and it stood.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

י יְהוָה, הֵפִיר עֲצַת-גּוֹיִם; הֵנִיא, מַחְשְׁבוֹת עַמִּים. 10

Jehovah bringeth the counsel of the masses to nought; He maketh the thoughts of the peoples to be of no effect.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יא עֲצַת יְהוָה, לְעוֹלָם תַּעֲמֹד; מַחְשְׁבוֹת לִבּוֹ, לְדֹר וָדֹר. 11

The counsel of jehovah standeth for ever, the thoughts of His heart to all generations.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יב אַשְׁרֵי הַגּוֹי, אֲשֶׁר-יְהוָה אֱלֹהָיו; הָעָם, בָּחַר לְנַחֲלָה לוֹ. 12

Happy is the masses whose God is jehovah; the people whom He hath chosen for His own inheritance.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יג מִשָּׁמַיִם, הִבִּיט יְהוָה; רָאָה, אֶת-כָּל-בְּנֵי הָאָדָם. 13

Jehovah looketh from heaven; He beholdeth all the sons of men;

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יד מִמְּכוֹן-שִׁבְתּוֹ הִשְׁגִּיחַ– אֶל כָּל-יֹשְׁבֵי הָאָרֶץ. 14

From the place of His habitation He looketh intently upon all the inhabitants of the earth;

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

טו הַיֹּצֵר יַחַד לִבָּם; הַמֵּבִין, אֶל-כָּל-מַעֲשֵׂיהֶם. 15

He that fashioneth the hearts of them all, that considereth all their doings.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

טז אֵין-הַמֶּלֶךְ, נוֹשָׁע בְּרָב-חָיִל; גִּבּוֹר, לֹא-יִנָּצֵל בְּרָב-כֹּחַ. 16

A king is not saved by the multitude of a host; a mighty man is not delivered by great strength.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יז שֶׁקֶר הַסּוּס, לִתְשׁוּעָה; וּבְרֹב חֵילוֹ, לֹא יְמַלֵּט. 17

A horse is a vain thing for safety; neither doth it afford escape by its great strength.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יח הִנֵּה עֵין יְהוָה, אֶל-יְרֵאָיו; לַמְיַחֲלִים לְחַסְדּוֹ. 18

Behold, the eye of jehovah is toward them that fear Him, toward them that wait for His mercy;

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

יט לְהַצִּיל מִמָּוֶת נַפְשָׁם; וּלְחַיּוֹתָם, בָּרָעָב. 19

To deliver their soul from death, and to keep them alive in famine.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

כ נַפְשֵׁנוּ, חִכְּתָה לַיהוָה; עֶזְרֵנוּ וּמָגִנֵּנוּ הוּא. 20

Our soul hath waited for jehovah; He is our help and our shield.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

כא כִּי-בוֹ, יִשְׂמַח לִבֵּנוּ: כִּי בְשֵׁם קָדְשׁוֹ בָטָחְנוּ. 21

For in Him doth our heart rejoice, because we have trusted in His holy name.

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

כב יְהִי-חַסְדְּךָ יְהוָה עָלֵינוּ: כַּאֲשֶׁר, יִחַלְנוּ לָךְ. 22

Let Thy mercy, O jehovah, be upon us, according as we have waited for Thee. {P}

*Let All the Earth Trust Jehovah*

Chapter 34 *I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

א לְדָוִד– בְּשַׁנּוֹתוֹ אֶת-טַעְמוֹ, לִפְנֵי אֲבִימֶלֶךְ; וַיְגָרְשֵׁהוּ, וַיֵּלַךְ. 1

[A Psalm] of David; when he changed his demeanour before Abimelech, who drove him away, and he departed.

ב אֲבָרְכָה אֶת-יְהוָה בְּכָל-עֵת; תָּמִיד, תְּהִלָּתוֹ בְּפִי. 2

I will bless jehovah at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ג בַּיהוָה, תִּתְהַלֵּל נַפְשִׁי; יִשְׁמְעוּ עֲנָוִים וְיִשְׂמָחוּ. 3

My soul shall glory in jehovah; the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ד גַּדְּלוּ לַיהוָה אִתִּי; וּנְרוֹמְמָה שְׁמוֹ יַחְדָּו. 4

O magnify jehovah with me, and let us exalt His name together.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ה דָּרַשְׁתִּי אֶת-יְהוָה וְעָנָנִי; וּמִכָּל-מְגוּרוֹתַי הִצִּילָנִי. 5

I sought jehovah, and He answered me, and delivered me from all my fears.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ו הִבִּיטוּ אֵלָיו וְנָהָרוּ; וּפְנֵיהֶם, אַל-יֶחְפָּרוּ. 6

They looked unto Him, and were radiant; and their faces shall never be abashed.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ז זֶה עָנִי קָרָא, וַיהוָה שָׁמֵעַ; וּמִכָּל-צָרוֹתָיו, הוֹשִׁיעוֹ. 7

This poor man cried, and jehovah heard, and saved him out of all his troubles.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ח חֹנֶה מַלְאַךְ-יְהוָה סָבִיב לִירֵאָיו; וַיְחַלְּצֵם. 8

The angel of jehovah encampeth round about them that fear Him, and delivereth them.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

ט טַעֲמוּ וּרְאוּ, כִּי-טוֹב יְהוָה; אַשְׁרֵי הַגֶּבֶר, יֶחֱסֶה-בּוֹ. 9

O consider and see that jehovah is good; happy is the man that taketh refuge in Him.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

י יְראוּ אֶת-יְהוָה קְדֹשָׁיו: כִּי-אֵין מַחְסוֹר, לִירֵאָיו. 10

O fear jehovah, ye His holy ones; for there is no want to them that fear Him.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יא כְּפִירִים, רָשׁוּ וְרָעֵבוּ; וְדֹרְשֵׁי יְהוָה, לֹא-יַחְסְרוּ כָל-טוֹב. 11

The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger; but they that seek jehovah want not any good thing.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יב לְכוּ-בָנִים, שִׁמְעוּ-לִי; יִרְאַת יְהוָה, אֲלַמֶּדְכֶם. 12

Come, ye children, hearken unto me; I will teach you the fear of jehovah.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יג מִי-הָאִישׁ, הֶחָפֵץ חַיִּים; אֹהֵב יָמִים, לִרְאוֹת טוֹב. 13

Who is the man that desireth life, and loveth days, that he may see good therein?

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יד נְצֹר לְשׁוֹנְךָ מֵרָע; וּשְׂפָתֶיךָ, מִדַּבֵּר מִרְמָה. 14

Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

טו סוּר מֵרָע, וַעֲשֵׂה-טוֹב; בַּקֵּשׁ שָׁלוֹם וְרָדְפֵהוּ. 15

Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

טז עֵינֵי יְהוָה, אֶל-צַדִּיקִים; וְאָזְנָיו, אֶל-שַׁוְעָתָם. 16

The eyes of jehovah are toward the righteous, and His ears are open unto their cry.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יז פְּנֵי יְהוָה, בְּעֹשֵׂי רָע; לְהַכְרִית מֵאֶרֶץ זִכְרָם. 17

The face of jehovah is against them that do evil, to cut off the remembrance of them from the earth.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יח צָעֲקוּ, וַיהוָה שָׁמֵעַ; וּמִכָּל-צָרוֹתָם, הִצִּילָם. 18

They cried, and jehovah heard, and delivered them out of all their troubles.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

יט קָרוֹב יְהוָה, לְנִשְׁבְּרֵי-לֵב; וְאֶת-דַּכְּאֵי-רוּחַ יוֹשִׁיעַ. 19

Jehovah is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart, and saveth such as are of a contrite spirit.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

כ רַבּוֹת, רָעוֹת צַדִּיק; וּמִכֻּלָּם, יַצִּילֶנּוּ יְהוָה. 20

Many are the ills of the righteous, but jehovah delivereth him out of them all.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

כא שֹׁמֵר כָּל-עַצְמוֹתָיו; אַחַת מֵהֵנָּה, לֹא נִשְׁבָּרָה. 21

He keepeth all his bones; not one of them is broken.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

כב תְּמוֹתֵת רָשָׁע רָעָה; וְשֹׂנְאֵי צַדִּיק יֶאְשָׁמוּ. 22

Evil shall kill the wicked; and they that hate the righteous shall be held guilty.

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

כג פֹּדֶה יְהוָה, נֶפֶשׁ עֲבָדָיו; וְלֹא יֶאְשְׁמוּ, כָּל-הַחֹסִים בּוֹ. 23

Jehovah redeemeth the soul of His servants; and none of them that take refuge in Him shall be desolate. {P}

*I Will Bless Jehovah At All Times*

Chapter 35 *Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

א לְדָוִד: רִיבָה יְהוָה, אֶת-יְרִיבַי; לְחַם, אֶת-לֹחֲמָי. 1

A Psalm of David.

Strive, O jehovah, with them that strive with me; fight against them that fight against me.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ב הַחֲזֵק מָגֵן וְצִנָּה; וְקוּמָה, בְּעֶזְרָתִי. 2

Take hold of shield and buckler, and rise up to my help.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ג וְהָרֵק חֲנִית וּסְגֹר, לִקְרַאת רֹדְפָי; אֱמֹר לְנַפְשִׁי, יְשֻׁעָתֵךְ אָנִי. 3

Draw out also the spear, and the battle-axe, against them that pursue me; say unto my soul:

‘I am thy yeshua.’

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ד יֵבֹשׁוּ וְיִכָּלְמוּ, מְבַקְשֵׁי נַפְשִׁי: יִסֹּגוּ אָחוֹר וְיַחְפְּרוּ–חֹשְׁבֵי, רָעָתִי. 4

Let them be ashamed and brought to confusion that seek after my soul; let them be turned back and be abashed that devise my hurt.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ה יִהְיוּ, כְּמֹץ לִפְנֵי-רוּחַ; וּמַלְאַךְ יְהוָה דּוֹחֶה. 5

Let them be as chaff before the wind, the angel of jehovah thrusting them.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ו יְהִי-דַרְכָּם, חֹשֶׁךְ וַחֲלַקְלַקֹּת; וּמַלְאַךְ יְהוָה, רֹדְפָם. 6

Let their way be dark and slippery, the angel of jehovah pursuing them.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ז כִּי-חִנָּם טָמְנוּ-לִי, שַׁחַת רִשְׁתָּם; חִנָּם, חָפְרוּ לְנַפְשִׁי. 7

For without cause have they hid for me the pit, even their net, without cause have they digged for my soul.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ח תְּבוֹאֵהוּ שׁוֹאָה, לֹא-יֵדָע:

וְרִשְׁתּוֹ אֲשֶׁר-טָמַן תִּלְכְּדוֹ; בְּשׁוֹאָה, יִפָּל-בָּהּ. 8

Let destruction come upon him unawares; {N}

and let his net that he hath hid catch himself; with destruction let him fall therein.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

ט וְנַפְשִׁי, תָּגִיל בַּיהוָה; תָּשִׂישׂ, בִּישׁוּעָתוֹ. 9

And my soul shall be joyful in jehovah; it shall rejoice in His yeshua.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

י כָּל עַצְמוֹתַי, תֹּאמַרְנָה– יְהוָה, מִי כָמוֹךָ:

מַצִּיל עָנִי, מֵחָזָק מִמֶּנּוּ; וְעָנִי וְאֶבְיוֹן, מִגֹּזְלוֹ. 10

All my bones shall say:

‘Jehovah, who is like unto Thee, {N}

who deliverest the poor from him that is too strong for him, yea, the poor and the needy from him that spoileth him?’

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יא יְקוּמוּן, עֵדֵי חָמָס: אֲשֶׁר לֹא-יָדַעְתִּי, יִשְׁאָלוּנִי. 11

Unrighteous witnesses rise up; they ask me of things that I know not.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יב יְשַׁלְּמוּנִי רָעָה, תַּחַת טוֹבָה: שְׁכוֹל לְנַפְשִׁי. 12

They repay me evil for good; bereavement is come to my soul.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יג וַאֲנִי, בַּחֲלוֹתָם לְבוּשִׁי שָׂק– עִנֵּיתִי בַצּוֹם נַפְשִׁי;

וּתְפִלָּתִי, עַל-חֵיקִי תָשׁוּב. 13

But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth, I afflicted my soul with fasting; {N}

and my prayer, may it return into mine own bosom.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יד כְּרֵעַ-כְּאָח לִי, הִתְהַלָּכְתִּי; כַּאֲבֶל-אֵם, קֹדֵר שַׁחוֹתִי. 14

I went about as though it had been my friend or my brother; I bowed down mournful, as one that mourneth for his mother.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

טו וּבְצַלְעִי, שָׂמְחוּ וְנֶאֱסָפוּ:

נֶאֶסְפוּ עָלַי נֵכִים, וְלֹא יָדַעְתִּי;

קָרְעוּ וְלֹא-דָמּוּ. 15

But when I halt they rejoice, and gather themselves together; {N}

the abjects gather themselves together against me, and those whom I know not; {N}

they tear me, and cease not;

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

טז בְּחַנְפֵי, לַעֲגֵי מָעוֹג– חָרֹק עָלַי שִׁנֵּימוֹ. 16

With the profanest mockeries of backbiting they gnash at me with their teeth.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יז אֲדֹנָי, כַּמָּה תִּרְאֶה:

הָשִׁיבָה נַפְשִׁי, מִשֹּׁאֵיהֶם; מִכְּפִירִים, יְחִידָתִי. 17

My Lord, how long wilt Thou look on? {N}

Rescue my soul from their destructions, mine only one from the lions.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יח אוֹדְךָ, בְּקָהָל רָב; בְּעַם עָצוּם אֲהַלְלֶךָּ. 18

I will give Thee thanks in the great congregation; I will praise Thee among a numerous people.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

יט אַל-יִשְׂמְחוּ-לִי אֹיְבַי שֶׁקֶר; שֹׂנְאַי חִנָּם, יִקְרְצוּ-עָיִן. 19

Let not them that are wrongfully mine enemies rejoice over me; neither let them wink with the eye that hate me without a cause.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כ כִּי לֹא שָׁלוֹם, יְדַבֵּרוּ: וְעַל רִגְעֵי-אֶרֶץ–דִּבְרֵי מִרְמוֹת, יַחֲשֹׁבוּן. 20

For they speak not peace; but they devise deceitful matters against them that are quiet in the land.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כא וַיַּרְחִיבוּ עָלַי, פִּיהֶם: אָמְרוּ, הֶאָח הֶאָח; רָאֲתָה עֵינֵנוּ. 21

Yea, they open their mouth wide against me; they say:

‘Aha, aha, our eye hath seen it.’

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כב רָאִיתָה יְהוָה, אַל-תֶּחֱרַשׁ; אֲדֹנָי, אַל-תִּרְחַק מִמֶּנִּי. 22

Thou hast seen, O jehovah; keep not silence; my Lord, be not far from me.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כג הָעִירָה וְהָקִיצָה, לְמִשְׁפָּטִי; אֱלֹהַי וַאדֹנָי לְרִיבִי. 23

Rouse Thee, and awake to my judgment, even unto my cause, my God and my Lord.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כד שָׁפְטֵנִי כְצִדְקְךָ, יְהוָה אֱלֹהָי; וְאַל-יִשְׂמְחוּ-לִי. 24

Judge me, O jehovah my God, according to Thy righteousness; and let them not rejoice over me.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כה אַל-יֹאמְרוּ בְלִבָּם, הֶאָח נַפְשֵׁנוּ; אַל-יֹאמְרוּ, בִּלַּעֲנוּהוּ. 25

Let them not say in their heart:

‘Aha, we have our desire’;

let them not say:

‘We have swallowed him up.’

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כו יֵבֹשׁוּ וְיַחְפְּרוּ, יַחְדָּו– שְׂמֵחֵי רָעָתִי:

יִלְבְּשׁוּ-בֹשֶׁת וּכְלִמָּה– הַמַּגְדִּילִים עָלָי. 26

Let them be ashamed and abashed together that rejoice at my hurt; {N}

let them be clothed with shame and confusion that magnify themselves against me.

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כז יָרֹנּוּ וְיִשְׂמְחוּ, חֲפֵצֵי צִדְקִי:

וְיֹאמְרוּ תָמִיד, יִגְדַּל יְהוָה; הֶחָפֵץ, שְׁלוֹם עַבְדּוֹ. 27

Let them shout for joy, and be glad, that delight in my righteousness; {N}

yea, let them say continually:

‘Magnified be jehovah, who delighteth in the peace of His servant.’

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

כח וּלְשׁוֹנִי, תֶּהְגֶּה צִדְקֶךָ; כָּל-הַיּוֹם, תְּהִלָּתֶךָ. 28

And my tongue shall speak of Thy righteousness, and of Thy praise all the day. {P}

*Say Unto My Soul I Am Thy Yeshua*

0Dali.jpg

The May 4 Bible

Psalms

119,41 VAU.

Let Thy mercies also come unto me, O LORD, even Thy salvation, according to Thy word;

119,42 That I may have an answer for him that taunteth me; for I trust in Thy word.

119,43 And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth; for I hope in Thine ordinances;

119,44 So shall I observe Thy law continually for ever and ever;

119,45 And I will walk at ease, for I have sought Thy precepts;

119,46 I will also speak of Thy testimonies before kings, and will not be ashamed.

119,47 And I will delight myself in Thy commandments, which I have loved.

119,48 I will lift up my hands also unto Thy commandments, which I have loved; and I will meditate in Thy statutes. {P}

Numbers

7,78 On the twelfth day Ahira the son of Enan, prince of the children of Naphtali:

7,79 his offering was one silver dish, the weight thereof was a hundred and thirty shekels, one silver basin of seventy shekels, after the shekel of the sanctuary; both of them full of fine flour mingled with oil for a meal-offering;

7,80 one golden pan of ten shekels, full of incense;

7,81 one young bullock, one ram, one he-lamb of the first year, for a burnt-offering;

7,82 one male of the goats for a sin-offering;

7,83 and for the sacrifice of peace-offerings, two oxen, five rams, five he-goats, five he-lambs of the first year.

This was the offering of Ahira the son of Enan. {P}

7,84 This was the dedication-offering of the altar, in the day when it was anointed, at the hands of the princes of Israel:

twelve silver dishes, twelve silver basins, twelve golden pans;

7,85 each silver dish weighing a hundred and thirty shekels, and each basin seventy; all the silver of the vessels two thousand and four hundred shekels, after the shekel of the sanctuary;

7,86 twelve golden pans, full of incense, weighing ten shekels apiece, after the shekel of the sanctuary; all the gold of the pans a hundred and twenty shekels;

7,87 all the oxen for the burnt-offering twelve bullocks, the rams twelve, the he-lambs of the first year twelve, and their meal-offering; and the males of the goats for a sin-offering twelve;

7,88 and all the oxen for the sacrifice of peace-offerings twenty and four bullocks, the rams sixty, the he-goats sixty, the he-lambs of the first year sixty. This was the dedication-offering of the altar, after that it was anointed.

7,89 And when Moses went into the tent of meeting that He might speak with him, then he heard the Voice speaking unto him from above the ark-cover that was upon the ark of the testimony, from between the two cherubim; and He spoke unto him. {P}

8,1 And the LORD spoke unto Moses, saying:

8,2 ‘Speak unto Aaron, and say unto him:

When thou lightest the lamps, the seven lamps shall give light in front of the candlestick.’

8,3 And Aaron did so:

he lighted the lamps thereof so as to give light in front of the candlestick, as the LORD commanded Moses.

8,4 And this was the work of the candlestick, beaten work of gold; unto the base thereof, and unto the flowers thereof, it was beaten work; according unto the pattern which the LORD had shown Moses, so he made the candlestick. {P}

Kings

1 11,21 And when Hadad heard in Egypt that David slept with his fathers, and that Joab the captain of the host was dead, Hadad said to Pharaoh: ‘Let me depart, that I may go to mine own country.’

1 11,22 Then Pharaoh said unto him:

‘But what hast thou lacked with me, that, behold, thou seekest to go to thine own country?’

And he answered:

‘Nothing; howbeit let me depart in any wise.’

1 11,23 And God raised up another adversary unto him, Rezon the son of Eliada, who had fled from his lord Hadadezer king of Zobah.

1 11,24 And he gathered men unto him, and became captain over a troop, when David slew them [of Zobah]; and they went to Damascus, and dwelt therein, and reigned in Damascus.

1 11,25 And he was an adversary to Israel all the days of Solomon, beside the mischief that Hadad did; and he abhorred Israel, and reigned over Aram. {P}

1 11,26 And Jeroboam the son of Nebat, an Ephraimite of Zeredah, a servant of Solomon, whose mother’s name was Zeruah, a widow, he also lifted up his hand against the king.

1 11,27 And this was the cause that he lifted up his hand against the king: Solomon built Millo, and repaired the breach of the city of David his father. 1 11,28 And the man Jeroboam was a mighty man of valour; and Solomon saw the young man that he was industrious, and he gave him charge over all the labour of the house of Joseph. {S}

1 11,29 And it came to pass at that time, when Jeroboam went out of Jerusalem, that the prophet Ahijah the Shilonite found him in the way; now Ahijah had clad himself with a new garment; and they two were alone in the field.

1 11,30 And Ahijah laid hold of the new garment that was on him, and rent it in twelve pieces.

1 11,31 And he said to Jeroboam:

‘Take thee ten pieces; for thus saith the LORD, the God of Israel:

Behold, I will rend the kingdom out of the hand of Solomon, and will give ten tribes to thee–

1 11,32 but he shall have one tribe, for My servant David’s sake, and for Jerusalem’s sake, the city which I have chosen out of all the tribes of Israel–

1 11,33 because that they have forsaken Me, and have worshipped Ashtoreth the goddess of the Zidonians, Chemosh the god of Moab, and Milcom the god of the children of Ammon; and they have not walked in My ways, to do that which is right in Mine eyes, and to keep My statutes and Mine ordinances, as did David his father.

1 11,34 Howbeit I will not take the whole kingdom out of his hand; but I will make him prince all the days of his life, for David My servant’s sake, whom I chose, because he kept My commandments and My statutes;

1 11,35 but I will take the kingdom out of his son’s hand, and will give it unto thee, even ten tribes.

1 11,36 And unto his son will I give one tribe, that David My servant may have a lamp alway before Me in Jerusalem, the city which I have chosen Me to put My name there.

1 11,37 And I will take thee, and thou shalt reign over all that thy soul desireth, and shalt be king over Israel.

1 11,38 And it shall be, if thou wilt hearken unto all that I command thee, and wilt walk in My ways, and do that which is right in Mine eyes, to keep My statutes and My commandments, as David My servant did, that I will be with thee, and will build thee a sure house, as I built for David, and will give Israel unto thee.

1 11,39 And I will for this afflict the seed of David, but not for ever.’ {S}

1 11,40 Solomon sought therefore to kill Jeroboam; but Jeroboam arose, and fled into Egypt, unto Shishak king of Egypt, and was in Egypt until the death of Solomon. {S}

1 11,41 Now the rest of the acts of Solomon, and all that he did, and his wisdom, are they not written in the book of the acts of Solomon?

1 11,42 And the time that Solomon reigned in Jerusalem over all Israel was forty years.

1 11,43 And Solomon slept with his fathers, and was buried in the city of David his father; and Rehoboam his son reigned in his stead. {S}

1 12,1 And Rehoboam went to Shechem; for all Israel were come to Shechem to make him king.

1 12,2 And it came to pass, when Jeroboam the son of Nebat heard of it–

for he was yet in Egypt, whither he had fled from the presence of king Solomon, and Jeroboam dwelt in Egypt,

1 12,3 and they sent and called him–

that Jeroboam and all the congregation of Israel came, and spoke unto Rehoboam, saying:

1 12,4 ‘Thy father made our yoke grievous; now therefore make thou the grievous service of thy father, and his heavy yoke which he put upon us, lighter, and we will serve thee.’

The Annunciation of Mark – Chapter 6

7 And he called his twelve, and began to send them forth, two and two; and he gave them authority over unclean spirits, to cast them out.

8 And he commanded them to take nothing for the journey, except a staff only; neither a wallet, nor bread, nor brass in their purses;

9 but to be shod with sandals, and not put on two coats.

10 And he said to them:

Into whatever house ye enter, there abide till ye leave the place.

11 And whoever will not receive you, nor hear you, when ye go out from that place shake off the dust that is under your feet, for a testimony to them.

Verily I say to you, There will be comfort for Sodom and Gomorrah in the day of judgment rather than for that city.

12 And they went out and proclaimed, that [men] should repent.

13 And they cast out many demons, and many of the sick they anointed with oil, and healed them.

14 And Herod the king heard of Jesus, for his name had become known to him, and he said:

John the Baptizer hath risen from the dead: and therefore it is, mighty deeds are done by him.

15 Others said:

He is Elijah:

and others:

He is a prophet, like one of the prophets.

16 But when Herod heard [of him], he said:

He is that John whose head I struck off: he is risen from the dead.

17 For Herod had sent and seized John and bound him in prison, on account of Herodias, his brother Philips wife, whom he had taken.

The Book of Acts – Chapter 20

3 And he was there three months.

And the Jews formed a plot against him, when he was about to go to Syria:

and he contemplated returning to Macedonia.

4 And there departed with him, as far as Asia, Sopater of the city Berea, and Aristarchus and Secundus who were of Thessalonica, and Gaius who was of the city of Derbe, and Timothy of Lystra, and of Asia Tychicus and Trophimus.

5 these proceeded on before us, and waited for us at Troas.

6 And we departed from Philippi, a city of the Macedonians, after the days of unleavened bread; and proceeded by water and arrived at Troas in five days, and remained there seven days.

7 And on the first of the Weeks, when we assembled to break the eucharist, Paul discoursed with them, because he was to depart the next day; and he continued his discourse till midnight.

8 And there were many lamps burning in the chamber where we were assembled.