Home » Torah » The May 5 Bible

The May 5 Bible

Psalms
135,1 Hallelujah. {N}
Praise ye the name of the LORD;
give praise, O ye servants of the LORD,
135,2 Ye that stand in the house of the LORD, in the courts of the house of our God.
135,3 Praise ye the LORD, for the LORD is good;
sing praises unto His name, for it is pleasant.
135,4 For the LORD hath chosen Jacob unto Himself, and Israel for His own treasure.
135,5 For I know that the LORD is great, and that our Lord is above all gods.
135,6 Whatsoever the LORD pleased, that hath He done, {N}
in heaven and in earth, in the seas and in all deeps;
135,7 Who causeth the vapours to ascend from the ends of the earth; {N}
He maketh lightnings for the rain;
He bringeth forth the wind out of His treasuries.
135,8 Who smote the first-born of Egypt, both of man and beast.
135,9 He sent signs and wonders into the midst of thee, O Egypt, upon Pharaoh, and upon all his servants.
135,10 Who smote many nations, and slew mighty kings:
135,11 Sihon king of the Amorites, and Og king of Bashan, and all the kingdoms of Canaan;
135,12 And gave their land for a heritage, a heritage unto Israel His people.
135,13 O LORD, Thy name endureth for ever;
thy memorial, O LORD, throughout all generations.
135,14 For the LORD will judge His people, and repent Himself for His servants.
135,15 The idols of the nations are silver and gold, the work of men’s hands.
135,16 They have mouths, but they speak not;
eyes have they, but they see not;
135,17 They have ears, but they hear not;
neither is there any breath in their mouths.
135,18 They that make them shall be like unto them;
yea, every one that trusteth in them.
135,19 O house of Israel, bless ye the LORD;
O house of Aaron, bless ye the LORD;
135,20 O house of Levi, bless ye the LORD;
ye that fear the LORD, bless ye the LORD.
135,21 Blessed be the LORD out of Zion, who dwelleth at Jerusalem. Hallelujah. {P}

Genesis
6,17 And I, behold, I do bring the flood of waters upon the earth, to destroy all flesh, wherein is the breath of life, from under heaven;
every thing that is in the earth shall perish.
6,18 But I will establish My covenant with thee;
and thou shalt come into the ark, thou, and thy sons, and thy wife, and thy sons’ wives with thee.
6,19 And of every living thing of all flesh, two of every sort shalt thou bring into the ark, to keep them alive with thee;
they shall be male and female.
6,20 Of the fowl after their kind, and of the cattle after their kind, of every creeping thing of the ground after its kind, two of every sort shall come unto thee, to keep them alive.
6,21 And take thou unto thee of all food that is eaten, and gather it to thee;
and it shall be for food for thee, and for them.’
6,22 Thus did Noah;
according to all that God commanded him, so did he.
7,1 And the LORD said unto Noah:
‘Come thou and all thy house into the ark;
for thee have I seen righteous before Me in this generation.
7,2 Of every clean beast thou shalt take to thee seven and seven, each with his mate;
and of the beasts that are not clean two [and two], each with his mate;
7,3 of the fowl also of the air, seven and seven, male and female;
to keep seed alive upon the face of all the earth.
7,4 For yet seven days, and I will cause it to rain upon the earth forty days and forty nights;
and every living substance that I have made will I blot out from off the face of the earth.’
7,5 And Noah did according unto all that the LORD commanded him.
7,6 And Noah was six hundred years old when the flood of waters was upon the earth.
7,7 And Noah went in, and his sons, and his wife, and his sons’ wives with him, into the ark, because of the waters of the flood.
7,8 Of clean beasts, and of beasts that are not clean, and of fowls, and of every thing that creepeth upon the ground,
7,9 there went in two and two unto Noah into the ark, male and female, as God commanded Noah.
7,10 And it came to pass after the seven days, that the waters of the flood were upon the earth.
7,11 In the six hundredth year of Noah’s life, in the second month, on the seventeenth day of the month, on the same day were all the fountains of the great deep broken up, and the windows of heaven were opened.

Kings
2 15,37 In those days the LORD began to send against Judah Rezin the king of Aram, and Pekah the son of Remaliah.
2 15,38 And Jotham slept with his fathers, and was buried with his fathers in the city of David his father; and Ahaz his son reigned in his stead. {P}
2 16,1 In the seventeenth year of Pekah the son of Remaliah Ahaz the son of Jotham king of Judah began to reign.
2 16,2 Twenty years old was Ahaz when he began to reign;
and he reigned sixteen years in Jerusalem;
and he did not that which was right in the eyes of the LORD his God, like David his father.
2 16,3 But he walked in the way of the kings of Israel, yea, and made his son to pass through the fire, according to the abominations of the heathen, whom the LORD cast out from before the children of Israel.
2 16,4 And he sacrificed and offered in the high places, and on the hills, and under every leafy tree.
2 16,5 Then Rezin king of Aram and Pekah son of Remaliah king of Israel came up to Jerusalem to war;
and they besieged Ahaz, but could not overcome him.
2 16,6 At that time Rezin king of Aram recovered Elath to Aram, and drove the Jews from Elath;
and the Edomites came to Elath, and dwelt there, unto this day. {P}
2 16,7 So Ahaz sent messengers to Tiglath-pileser king of Assyria, saying:
‘I am thy servant and thy son;
come up, and save me out of the hand of the king of Aram, and out of the hand of the king of Israel, who rise up against me.’
2 16,8 And Ahaz took the silver and gold that was found in the house of the LORD, and in the treasures of the king’s house, and sent it for a present to the king of Assyria.
2 16,9 And the king of Assyria hearkened unto him; and the king of Assyria went up against Damascus, and took it, and carried the people of it captive to Kir, and slew Rezin.
2 16,10 And king Ahaz went to Damascus to meet Tiglath-pileser king of Assyria, and saw the altar that was at Damascus;
and king Ahaz sent to Urijah the priest the fashion of the altar, and the pattern of it, according to all the workmanship thereof.
2 16,11 And Urijah the priest built an altar;
according to all that king Ahaz had sent from Damascus, so did Urijah the priest make it against the coming of king Ahaz from Damascus.
2 16,12 And when the king was come from Damascus, the king saw the altar; and the king drew near unto the altar, and offered thereon.
2 16,13 And he offered his burnt-offering and his meal-offering, and poured his drink-offering, and dashed the blood of his peace-offerings against the altar.
2 16,14 And the brazen altar, which was before the LORD, he brought from the forefront of the house, from between his altar and the house of the LORD, and put it on the north side of his altar.
2 16,15 And king Ahaz commanded Urijah the priest, saying:
‘Upon the great altar offer the morning burnt-offering, and the evening meal-offering, and the king’s burnt-offering, and his meal-offering, with the burnt-offering of all the people of the land, and their meal-offering, and their drink-offerings;
and dash against it all the blood of the burnt-offering, and all the blood of the sacrifice;
but the brazen altar shall be for me to look to.’
2 16,16 Thus did Urijah the priest, according to all that king Ahaz commanded.
2 16,17 And king Ahaz cut off the borders of the bases, and removed the laver from off them;
and took down the sea from off the brazen oxen that were under it, and put it upon a pavement of stone.
2 16,18 And the covered place for the sabbath that they had built in the house, and the king’s entry without, turned he unto the house of the LORD, because of the king of Assyria.
2 16,19 Now the rest of the acts of Ahaz which he did, are they not written in the book of the chronicles of the kings of Judah?
2 16,20 And Ahaz slept with his fathers, and was buried with his fathers in the city of David;
and Hezekiah his son reigned in his stead. {P}
2 17,1 In the twelfth year of Ahaz king of Judah began Hoshea the son of Elah to reign in Samaria over Israel, and reigned nine years.
2 17,2 And he did that which was evil in the sight of the LORD, yet not as the kings of Israel that were before him.
2 17,3 Against him came up Shalmaneser king of Assyria;
and Hoshea became his servant, and brought him presents.
2 17,4 And the king of Assyria found conspiracy in Hoshea;
for he had sent messengers to So king of Egypt, and offered no present to the king of Assyria, as he had done year by year;
therefore the king of Assyria shut him up, and bound him in prison.

Ecclesiastes
1,16 I spoke with my own heart, saying:
‘Lo, I have gotten great wisdom, more also than all that were before me over Jerusalem’;
yea, my heart hath had great experience of wisdom and knowledge.
1,17 And I applied my heart to know wisdom, and to know madness and folly–
I perceived that this also was a striving after wind.
1,18 For in much wisdom is much vexation;
and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.
2,1 I said in my heart:
‘Come now, I will try thee with mirth, and enjoy pleasure’;
and, behold, this also was vanity.
2,2 I said of laughter:
‘It is mad’;
and of mirth:
‘What doth it accomplish?’
2,3 I searched in my heart how to pamper my flesh with wine, and, my heart conducting itself with wisdom, how yet to lay hold on folly, till I might see which it was best for the sons of men that they should do under the heaven the few days of their life.
2,4 I made me great works;
I builded me houses;
I planted me vineyards;
2,5 I made me gardens and parks, and I planted trees in them of all kinds of fruit;
2,6 I made me pools of water, to water therefrom the wood springing up with trees;
2,7 I acquired men-servants and maid-servants, and had servants born in my house;
also I had great possessions of herds and flocks, above all that were before me in Jerusalem;
2,8 I gathered me also silver and gold, and treasure such as kings and the provinces have as their own;
I got me men-singers and women-singers, and the delights of the sons of men, women very many.
2,9 So I was great, and increased more than all that were before me in Jerusalem;
also my wisdom stood me in stead.
2,10 And whatsoever mine eyes desired I kept not from them;
I withheld not my heart from any joy, for my heart had joy of all my labour;
and this was my portion from all my labour.
2,11 Then I looked on all the works that my hands had wrought, and on the labour that I had laboured to do;
and, behold, all was vanity and a striving after wind, and there was no profit under the sun.
2,12 And I turned myself to behold wisdom, and madness and folly;
for what can the man do that cometh after the king?
even that which hath been already done.

Mark 14:12 – And on the first day of unleavened cakes, on which the Jews slay the passover, his disciples said to him:
Where wilt thou that we go, and prepare for thee to eat the passover ?
Mark 14:13 – And he sent two of his disciples, and said to them:
Go ye to the city, and behold, there will meet you a man bearing a pitcher of water.
Go ye after him,
Mark 14:14 – and where he entereth in, say ye to the lord of the house:
Our Rabbi saith, Where is the place of refreshment, in which I may eat the passover with my disciples?
Mark 14:15 – And lo, he will show you a large upper room, furnished and prepared:
there make ready for us.
Mark 14:16 – And his disciples went, and entered the city, and found as he had told them:
and they made ready the passover.
Mark 14:17 – And when it was evening, he came with his twelve.
Mark 14:18 – And as they reclined and ate, Jesus said:
Verily I say to you, That one of you that eateth with me, will betray me.
Mark 14:19 – And they began to be distressed.
And they said to him, one by one, Is it I ?
Mark 14:20 – And he said to them:
It is one of the twelve that dippeth with me in the dish.
Mark 14:21 – And the Son of man goeth, as it is written of him:
but woe to that man, by whom the Son of man is betrayed.
Better would it have been for that man, if he had not been born.
Mark 14:22 – And as they were eating, Jesus took bread, and blessed, and brake, and gave to them, and said to them:
Take;
this is my body.

The Book of Acts – Chapter 25
24 And Festus said:
King Agrippa, and all persons present with us;
concerning this man whom ye see, all the people of the Jews applied to me, at Jerusalem and also here, crying out, that he ought no longer to live.
25 Yet on investigation, I found that he hath done nothing deserving death.
But, because he requested to be reserved for the hearing of Caesar, I have ordered him to be sent.
26 And I know not what I can write to Caesar, in regard to him:
and therefore I wished to bring him before you, and especially before thee, king Agrippa;
that when his case shall have been heard, I may find what to write.
27 For it is unsuitable, when we send up a prisoner, not to designate his offence.
Acts 26:1 – And Agrippa said to Paul:
Thou art permitted to speak in thy own behalf.
Then Paul extended his hand, and made defence, saying:
Acts 26:2 – In regard to all the things of which I am accused by the Jews, king Agrippa, I consider myself highly favored, that I may this day make defence before thee:
Acts 26:3 – especially, as I know thee to be expert in all the controversies and laws of the Jews.
I therefore request thee to hear me with indulgence.

Thanks for the visit. Say hello!

