Home » Uncategorized » The August 18 Bible

The August 18 Bible

Psalms – 35,11 Unrighteous witnesses rise up;
they ask me of things that I know not.
35,12 They repay me evil for good;
bereavement is come to my soul.
35,13 But as for me, when they were sick, my clothing was sackcloth, I afflicted my soul with fasting; {N}
and my prayer, may it return into mine own bosom.
35,14 I went about as though it had been my friend or my brother;
I bowed down mournful, as one that mourneth for his mother.

Genesis – 46,33 And it shall come to pass, when Pharaoh shall call you, and shall say: What is your occupation? 46,34 that ye shall say: Thy servants have been keepers of cattle from our youth even until now, both we, and our fathers; that ye may dwell in the land of Goshen; for every shepherd is an abomination unto the Egyptians.’ 47,1 Then Joseph went in and told Pharaoh, and said: ‘My father and my brethren, and their flocks, and their herds, and all that they have, are come out of the land of Canaan; and, behold, they are in the land of Goshen.’47,2 And from among his brethren he took five men, and presented them unto Pharaoh. 47,3 And Pharaoh said unto his brethren: ‘What is your occupation?’ And they said unto Pharaoh: ‘Thy servants are shepherds, both we, and our fathers.’ 47,4 And they said unto Pharaoh: ‘To sojourn in the land are we come; for there is no pasture for thy servants’ flocks; for the famine is sore in the land of Canaan. Now therefore, we pray thee, let thy servants dwell in the land of Goshen.’ 47,5 And Pharaoh spoke unto Joseph, saying: ‘Thy father and thy brethren are come unto thee; 47,6 the land of Egypt is before thee; in the best of the land make thy father and thy brethren to dwell; in the land of Goshen let them dwell. And if thou knowest any able men among them, then make them rulers over my cattle.’ 47,7 And Joseph brought in Jacob his father, and set him before Pharaoh. And Jacob blessed Pharaoh. 47,8 And Pharaoh said unto Jacob: ‘How many are the days of the years of thy life?’ 47,9 And Jacob said unto Pharaoh: ‘The days of the years of my sojournings are a hundred and thirty years; few and evil have been the days of the years of my life, and they have not attained unto the days of the years of the life of my fathers in the days of their sojournings.’ 47,10 And Jacob blessed Pharaoh, and went out from the presence of Pharaoh. 47,11 And Joseph placed his father and his brethren, and gave them a possession in the land of Egypt, in the best of the land, in the land of Rameses, as Pharaoh had commanded. 47,12 And Joseph sustained his father, and his brethren, and all his father’s household, with bread, according to the want of their little ones. 47,13 And there was no bread in all the land; for the famine was very sore, so that the land of Egypt and the land of Canaan languished by reason of the famine. 47,14 And Joseph gathered up all the money that was found in the land of Egypt, and in the land of Canaan, for the corn which they bought; and Joseph brought the money into Pharaoh’s house. 47,15 And when the money was all spent in the land of Egypt, and in the land of Canaan, all the Egyptians came unto Joseph, and said: ‘Give us bread; for why should we die in thy presence? for our money faileth.’

Jeremiah – 13,17 But if ye will not hear it, my soul shall weep in secret for your pride; and mine eyes shall weep sore, and run down with tears, because the LORD’S flock is carried away captive. {S} 13,18 Say thou unto the king and to the queen-mother: ‘Sit ye down low; for your headtires are come down, even your beautiful crown.’ 13,19 The cities of the South are shut up, and there is none to open them; Judah is carried away captive all of it; it is wholly carried away captive. {S} 13,20Lift up your eyes, and behold them that come from the north; where is the flock that was given thee, thy beautiful flock? 13,21 What wilt thou say, when He shall set the friends over thee as head, whom thou thyself hast trained against thee? Shall not pangs take hold of thee, as of a woman in travail? 13,22 And if thou say in thy heart: ‘Wherefore are these things befallen me?’–for the greatness of thine iniquity are thy skirts uncovered, and thy heels suffer violence. 13,23 Can the Ethiopian change his skin, or the leopard his spots? Then may ye also do good, that are accustomed to do evil. 13,24 Therefore will I scatter them, as the stubble that passeth away by the wind of the wilderness. 13,25 This is thy lot, the portion measured unto thee from Me, saith the LORD; because thou hast forgotten Me, and trusted in falsehood. 13,26Therefore will I also uncover thy skirts upon thy face, and thy shame shall appear. 13,27 Thine adulteries, and thy neighings, the lewdness of thy harlotry, on the hills in the field have I seen thy detestable acts. Woe unto thee, O Jerusalem! thou wilt not be made clean! When shall it ever be? {S} 14,1 The word of the LORD that came to Jeremiah concerning the droughts. 14,2 Judah mourneth, and the gates thereof languish, they bow down in black unto the ground; and the cry of Jerusalem is gone up. 14,3 And their nobles send their lads for water: they come to the pits, and find no water; their vessels return empty; they are ashamed and confounded, and cover their heads. 14,4 Because of the ground which is cracked, for there hath been no rain in the land, the plowmen are ashamed, they cover their heads. 14,5 Yea, the hind also in the field calveth, and forsaketh her young, because there is no grass, 14,6 And the wild asses stand on the high hills, they gasp for air like jackals; their eyes fail, because there is no herbage. 14,7 Though our iniquities testify against us, O LORD, work Thou for Thy name’s sake; for our backslidings are many, we have sinned against Thee. 14,8 O Thou hope of Israel, the Saviour thereof in time of trouble, why shouldest Thou be as a stranger in the land, and as a wayfaring man that turneth aside to tarry for a night? 14,9 Why shouldest thou be as a man overcome, as a mighty man that cannot save? Yet Thou, O LORD, art in the midst of us, and Thy name is called upon us; leave us not. {S} 14,10 Thus saith the LORD unto this people: Even so have they loved to wander, they have not refrained their feet; therefore the LORD doth not accept them, now will He remember their iniquity, and punish their sins. {P}

14,11 And the LORD said unto me: ‘Pray not for this people for their good. 14,12 When they fast, I will not hear their cry; and when they offer burnt-offering and meal-offering, I will not accept them; but I will consume them by the sword, and by the famine, and by the pestilence.’ {S} 14,13 Then said I: ‘Ah, Lord GOD! behold, the prophets say unto them: Ye shall not see the sword, neither shall ye have famine; but I will give you assured peace in this place.’ {S} 14,14 Then the LORD said unto me: ‘The prophets prophesy lies in My name; I sent them not, neither have I commanded them, neither spoke I unto them; they prophesy unto you a lying vision, and divination, and a thing of nought, and the deceit of their own heart. {S}

Nehemiah – N 6,1 Now it came to pass, when it was reported to Sanballat and Tobiah, and to Geshem the Arabian, and unto the rest of our enemies, that I had builded the wall, and that there was no breach left therein–though even unto that time I had not set up the doors in the gates– N 6,2 that Sanballat and Geshem sent unto me, saying: ‘Come, let us meet together in one of the villages in the plain of Ono.’ But they thought to do me mischief. N 6,3 And I sent messengers unto them, saying: ‘I am doing a great work, so that I cannot come down; why should the work cease, whilst I leave it, and come down to you?’ N 6,4 And they sent unto me four times after this sort; and I answered them after the same manner. {S} N 6,5 Then sent Sanballat his servant unto me in like manner the fifth time with an open letter in his hand; N 6,6 wherein was written: ‘It is reported among the nations, and Geshem saith it, that thou and the Jews think to rebel; for which cause thou buildest the wall; and thou wouldest be their king, even according to these words. N 6,7And thou hast also appointed prophets to proclaim of thee at Jerusalem, saying: There is a king in Judah; and now shall it be reported to the king according to these words. Come now therefore, and let us take counsel together.’ {S} N 6,8 Then I sent unto him, saying: ‘There are no such things done as thou sayest, but thou feignest them out of thine own heart.’ N 6,9 For they all would have us afraid, saying: ‘Their hands shall be weakened from the work, that it be not done.’ But now, strengthen Thou my hands. N 6,10 And as for me, I went unto the house of Shemaiah the son of Delaiah the son of Mehetabel, who was shut up; and he said: ‘Let us meet together in the house of God, within the temple, and let us shut the doors of the temple; for they will come to slay thee; yea, in the night will they come to slay thee.’ N 6,11 And I said: ‘Should such a man as I flee? and who is there, that, being such as I, could go into the temple and live? I will not go in.’ N 6,12 And I discerned, and, lo, God had not sent him; for he pronounced this prophecy against me, whereas Tobiah and Sanballat had hired him. N 6,13 For this cause was he hired, that I should be afraid, and do so, and sin, and that they might have matter for an evil report, that they might taunt me. {P}
N 6,14 Remember, O my God, Tobiah and Sanballat according to these their works, and also the prophetess Noadiah, and the rest of the prophets, that would have me put in fear. N 6,15 So the wall was finished in the twenty and fifth day of the month Elul, in fifty and two days. {P}

Mark – 15:12 – But he, Pilatos, said to them, What then will you that I do to this, whom ye call King of the Jihudoyee ?
Mark 15:13 – And they again cried, [Or, the more cried.] Crucify him !
Mark 15:14 – Pilatos said to them, Why? what evil hath he done? And they the more exceedingly cried, Crucify him.
Mark 15:15 – But Pilatos was willing to serve the will of the people, and released to them Bar-aba, and delivered up to them Jeshu, scourged, to be crucified.
Mark 15:16 – And the soldiers led him into the court which is the praetorium, and called the whole band;
Mark 15:17 – and they robed him in purple, and twisted and set upon him a crown of thorns,
Mark 15:18 – and they began to salute him, Hail, King of the Jihudoyee !
Mark 15:19 – and they struck him upon the head with a cane, and spat in his face, and kneeled upon their knees and worshipped him.
Mark 15:20 – And when they had mocked him, they stripped him of the purple, and clothed him with his own vestments, and led him forth to crucify him.
Mark 15:21 – AND they constrained one who was passing, Shemun Kurinoia, who was coming from the field, the father of Alexander and of Rufus, to bear his cross.
Mark 15:22 – And they brought him to Gogultha, a place which is interpreted A skull.

James – 1:19 – And you, my beloved brethren, let every one of you be swift to hear, and slow to speak, and slow to be angry;
James 1:20 – for the wrath of man the righteousness of Aloha worketh not.
James 1:21 – Wherefore, remove from you all impurity and the abounding of wickedness, and with meekness receive the word which is engrafted in our nature, which is able to save your souls.
James 1:22 – BUT be doers of the word, and not hearers only, neither deceive yourselves.
James 1:23 – For if a man be a hearer of the word and not a doer of it, this (man) is like one who vieweth his face in a mirror;
James 1:24 – for he seeth himself and passeth, and hath forgotten what (manner of person) he was.

